Browse our Arte Publico databases to research your Latino themed Research projects!
 |
The Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture published and digitized by Arte Público Press, the oldest and largest publisher of U.S. Hispanic literature in the U.S., covering geographically the fifty states of the Union. |
 |
Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Arte Publico Series 2, Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers digital collection. This EBSCO digital resource is the second series of the Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection and consists of newspapers, letters, advertisements, and other primary source documents covering Latino-Hispanic civil rights, religion, and women’s rights. |
Reflections on like between cultures.
Raised in Miami and the daughter of Cuban refugees, Crucet examines the political and personal contours of American identity and the physical places where those contours find themselves smashed: be it a rodeo town in Nebraska, a university campus in upstate New York, or Disney World in Florida.
A damning confrontation between the American dream and the reality of undocumented children seeking a new life in the US.
In this beautifully-rendered memoir, Maria Hinojosa relates the history of US immigration policy that has brought us to where we are today, as she shares her deeply personal story.
Traveling across the country, journalist Karla Cornejo Villavicencio risked arrest at every turn to report the extraordinary stories of her fellow undocumented Americans. Her subjects have every reason to be wary around reporters, but Cornejo Villavicencio has unmatched access to their stories.
After receiving a frantic letter from her newly-wed cousin begging for someone to save her from a mysterious doom, Noemí Taboada heads to High Place, a distant house in the Mexican countryside. She’s not sure what she will find—her cousin’s husband, a handsome Englishman, is a stranger, and Noemí knows little about the region.
Peruvian-American and Pulitzer Prize winning author, Carlos Lozada uses the books of the Trump era to argue that our response to this presidency reflects the same failures of imagination that made it possible.
With beauty, grace, and honesty, Castillo recounts his and his familys encounters with a system that treats them as criminals for seeking safe, ordinary lives.
Marisel Vera emerges as a major voice of contemporary fiction with a heart- wrenching novel set in Puerto Rico on the eve of the Spanish-American War.
A literature professor tries to rediscover who she is after the sudden death of her husband, even as a series of family and political jolts force her to ask what we owe those in crisis in our families, biological or otherwise.
A journalistic memoir detailing the author's firsthand experiences with immigration, gang life, and guerilla warfare explores the violence that shaped generations of his impoverished Salvadoran family to connect today's immigration crisis to the realitiesof everyday families.
Postcolonial Love Poem is an anthem of desire against erasure. Natalie Diaz’s brilliant second collection demands that every body carried in its pages—bodies of language, land, rivers, suffering brothers, enemies, and lovers—be touched and held as beloveds.
When the murals painted on the walls of her Brooklyn neighborhood start to change and fade in front of her, Sierra Santiago realizes that something strange is going on--then she discovers her Puerto Rican family are shadowshapers and finds herself in a battle with an evil anthropologist for the lives of her family and friends.
When a group of children from a small town in Mexico discovers the body of the Witch, her death becomes a catalyst for a hurricane of words and perspectives from different villagers. Gossip, speculation and personal narratives, each touching on the Witch’s life, ensue.
Running through mountains, deserts, and cities, and through the Mexican territory his parents left behind, Álvarez forges a new relationship with the land, and with the act of running, carrying with him the knowledge of his parents' migration, and--against all odds in a society that exploits his body and rejects his spirit--the dream of a liberated future
Camino Rios lives for the summers when her father visits her in the Dominican Republic. But this time, on the day when his plane is supposed to land, Camino arrives at the airport to see crowds of crying people.
A visionary novel about the collision of technology and play, horror and humanity, from a master of the spine-tingling tale. They've infiltrated homes in Hong Kong, shops in Vancouver, the streets of Senegal, town squares of Oaxaca, schools in Tel Aviv,bedrooms in Ohio.
When his traditional Latinx family has problems accepting his gender, Yadriel becomes determined to prove himself a real brujo. With the help of his cousin and best friend Maritza, he performs the ritual himself, and then sets out to find the ghost of his murdered cousin and set it free.
Seventeen-year-old Camila Hassan, a rising soccer star in Rosario, Argentina, dreams of playing professionally, in defiance of her fathers' wishes and at the risk of her budding romance with Diego.
Mariana Enriquez has been critically lauded for her unconventional and sociopolitical stories of the macabre: populated by unruly teenagers, crooked witches, homeless ghosts, and hungry women, they walk the uneasy line between urban realism and horror.
Presents a collection of stories from nations and cultures across our two continents, the Sea-Ringed World, as the Aztecs called it, from the edge of Argentina all the way up to Alaska.
Moving their family to what they believe will be a safer but temporary home in Houston, two young parents are forced to choose between an undocumented status in America and returning to the violence of war-torn Bogata.
A haunting debut story collection on friendship, mothers and daughters, and the deep-rooted truths of our homelands, centered on Latinas of indigenous ancestry that shines a new light on the American West.
Lovers on All Saints' Day is an emotional book that haunts, moves, and seduces. Juan Gabriel Vasquez, the brilliant novelist, now brings his keen eye and rich prose to the themes of love and memory in these seven powerful stories.
Stunning, timely, and absolutely mesmerizing, Lost City Radio probes the deepest questions of war and its meaning: from its devastating impact on a society transformed by violence to the emotional scarring each participant, observer, and survivor carries for years after.