LibGuides: Asian American Pacific Islander Heritage Month May 2022: RECOMMENDED MATERIALS

FICTION

America Is Not the Heart by Elaine Castillo
ISBN: 9780735222410
When Hero De Vera arrives in America--haunted by the political upheaval in the Philippines and disowned by her parents--she's already on her third. Her uncle gives her a fresh start in the Bay Area, and he doesn't ask about her past. His younger wife knows enough about the might and secrecy of the De Vera family to keep her head down. But their daughter--the first American-born daughter in the family--can't resist asking Hero about her damaged hands. An increasingly relevant story told with startling lucidity, humor, and an uncanny ear for the intimacies and shorthand of family ritual, America Is Not the Heart is a sprawling, soulful debut about three generations of women in one family struggling to balance the promise of the American dream and the unshakeable grip of history. With exuberance, grit, and sly tenderness, here is a family saga; an origin story; a romance; a narrative of two nations and the people who leave one home to grasp at another.
The Color of Air by Gail Tsukiyama
ISBN: 9780062976192
Daniel Abe, a young doctor in Chicago, is finally coming back to Hawai'i. He has his own reason for returning to his childhood home, but it is not to revisit the past, unlike his Uncle Koji. Koji lives with the memories of Daniel's mother, Mariko, the love of his life, and the scars of a life hard-lived. He can't wait to see Daniel, who he's always thought of as a son, but he knows the time has come to tell him the truth about his mother, and his father. But Daniel's arrival coincides with the awakening of the Mauna Loa volcano, and its dangerous path toward their village stirs both new and long ago passions in their community.
Exhalation by Ted Chiang
ISBN: 9781101947883
Ted Chiang tackles some of humanity's oldest questions along with new quandaries only he could imagine. In "The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate," a portal through time forces a fabric seller in ancient Baghdad to grapple with past mistakes and second chances. In "Exhalation," an alien scientist makes a shocking discovery with ramifications that are literally universal. In "Anxiety Is the Dizziness of Freedom," the ability to glimpse into alternate universes necessitates a radically new examination of the concepts of choice and free will. Including stories being published for the first time as well as some of his rare and classic uncollected work, Exhalation is Ted Chiang at his best: profound, sympathetic--revelatory.
How Much of These Hills Is Gold by C. Pam Zhang
ISBN: 9780525537205
An electric debut novel set against the twilight of the American gold rush, two siblings are on the run in an unforgiving landscape--trying not just to survive but to find a home. Ba dies in the night; Ma is already gone. Newly orphaned children of immigrants, Lucy and Sam are suddenly alone in a land that refutes their existence. Fleeing the threats of their western mining town, they set off to bury their father in the only way that will set them free from their past. Along the way, they encounter giant buffalo bones, tiger paw prints, and the specters of a ravaged landscape as well as family secrets, sibling rivalry, and glimpses of a different kind of future. Both epic and intimate, blending Chinese symbolism and reimagined history with fiercely original language and storytelling, How Much of These Hills Is Gold is a haunting adventure story, an unforgettable sibling story, and the announcement of a stunning new voice in literature. On a broad level, it explores race in an expanding country and the question of where immigrants are allowed to belong. But page by page, it's about the memories that bind and divide families, and the yearning for home.

FILMS

Films available on Kanopy:

Rabbit in the Moon - Kanopy

Like many innocent Japanese Americans released from WWII forced incarceration camps, the young Omori sisters did their best to erase the memories and scars of life under confinement. Fifty years later acclaimed filmmaker Emiko Omori asks her older sister and other detainees to reflect on the personal and political consequences of the camps. Visually stunning and emotionally compelling, Rabbit in the Moon uses eye witness accounts to examine issues that created deep rifts within the community, reveals the racist subtext of the loyalty questionnaire, and the absurdity of the military draft within the camps. Omori renders a poetic and illuminating picture of a deeply troubling chapter in American history.

Bitter Melon - Kanopy

When a Filipino-American family reunites for a Christmas party, the holiday takes a dark turn when they conspire to murder the abusive bully of the family in this dark comedy by Bay Area filmmaker H.P. Mendoza.

Best Narrative Feature winner at the San Diego Asian Film Festival.

Golden Gate Girls: Esther Eng: A Pioneering Asian-American Filmmaker - Kanopy

This is the story of filmmaker Esther Eng, the first woman to direct Chinese-language film in the US, and the most prominent woman director in Hong Kong in the 1930s. A San Francisco native and open lesbian, her contribution to film history is sadly overlooked and her 11 feature films mostly lost. After the retirement of director Dorothy Arzner in 1943 and before Ida Lupino began directing in 1949, Eng was the only woman directing feature length films in the US.

GOLDEN GATE GIRLS paints a fascinating picture of how Eng’s career in filmmaking broke through gender and racial boundaries in Hollywood and Hong Kong, at a time when opportunities for Chinese women in the industry were few and far between.

Official Selection at CAAMFest, the San Diego Asian Film Festival, and the Shanghai International Film Festival.

If you have a library card issued by McCarthy Library, you also have access available to all the collections at the Napa County Library. This means that in addition to the digital resources available to you through the college resources, you are also able to access the digital collections available through the county library system. Some highlights are:

Hoopla Digital

Streaming movies, TV shows, music, eBooks, and eAudiobooks.

Kanopy

More than 30,000 feature films, documentaries, foreign language, and training videos, including the Great Courses, the Frontline series, and international films.

NON-FICTION

Nisei Voices by Joyce Hirohata; Paul Hirohata (Editor); Bill Hosokawa (Foreword by); David Yoo (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0972814906
Nisei Voices documents and celebrates the lives of the first Japanese American valedictorians of California public schools in the 1930s. The students are called Nisei (pronounced "nee-say") which means second-generation children of Japanese immigrants. In the 1930s Paul T. Hirohata first published the valedictorians' speeches in a book called Orations and Essays. Seventy years later, Hirohata's granddaughter, Joyce Hirohata, has updated and expanded her grandfather's work. In this new edition, she documents the valedictorians' lives and adds a collection of poignant photographs to the original 1930s material. The fifty manuscripts of the valedictorians' orations give a rare glimpse into the words and thoughts of Japanese Americans in the period between World Wars. Over 160 images bring to life the history of the Nisei students and their generation. story of triumph, Nisei Voices lends a powerful, personal perspective of Japanese Americans before, during and after World War II, and the decades that followed. Visit www.niseivoices.com for more information.
On Becoming Filipino by E. San Juan
ISBN: 1566393094
A collection of Carlos Bulosan's short stories, essays, poetry, and correspondence.Carlos Bulosan was an English-language Filipino novelist and poet who immigrated to America on July 1, 1930. He never returned to the Philippines and he spent most of his life in the United States.
Growing up Brown by Peter Bacho (Introduction by); Fred Cordova (Afterword by); Peter M. Jamero; Dorothy Laigo Cordova (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0295986425
Peter Jamero Peter Jamero's story of hardship and success illuminates the experience of what he calls the "bridge generation" -- the American-born children of the Filipinos recruited as farm workers in the 1920s and 30s. Their experiences span the gap between these early immigrants and those Filipinos who owe their U.S. residency to the liberalization of immigration laws in 1965. His book is a sequel of sorts to Carlos Bulosan's America Is in the Heart, with themes of heartbreaking struggle against racism and poverty and eventual triumph. Jamero describes his early life in a farm-labor camp in Livingston, California, and the path that took him, through naval service and graduate school, far beyond Livingston. A longtime community activist and civic leader, Jamero describes decades of toil and progress before the Filipino community entered the sociopolitical mainstream. He shares a wealth of anecdotes and reflections from his career as an executive of health and human service programs in Sacramento, Washington, D.C., Seattle, and San Francisco.
Chinese American Voices by Judy Yung (Editor); Gordon Chang (Editor); Him Mark Lai (Editor)
ISBN: 0520243099
Described by others as quaint and exotic, or as depraved and threatening, and, more recently, as successful and exemplary, the Chinese in America have rarely been asked to describe themselves in their own words. This superb anthology, a diverse and illuminating collection of primary documents and stories by Chinese Americans, provides an intimate and textured history of the Chinese in America from their arrival during the California Gold Rush to the present. Among the documents are letters, speeches, testimonies, oral histories, personal memoirs, poems, essays, and folksongs; many have never been published before or have been translated into English for the first time. They bring to life the diverse voices of immigrants and American-born; laborers, merchants, and professionals; ministers and students; housewives and prostitutes; and community leaders and activists. Together, they provide insight into immigration, work, family and social life, and the longstanding fight for equality and inclusion.

POETRY

Book of My Nights by Li-Young Lee
ISBN: 1929918070
The long-awaited new poetry collection from one of the world's most acclaimed young poets. In Book of My Nights, Li-Young Lee once again gives us lyrical poetry that fuses memory, family, culture and history. In language as simple and powerful as the human muscle, these poems work individually and as a full-sequence meditation on the vulnerability of humanity.
But Still, Like Air, I'll Rise by Velina Houston
ISBN: 1566395372
In this pathbreaking volume, Velina Hasu Houston gathers together eleven plays that speak in the "hybridized, unique American voices of Asian descent -- and often dissent." These writers resist the bigotry that attempts to target them solely as people of color as well as the homogenizing tendencies of a multiculturalism that fails to recognize the varied make-up of Asian America. Anthologized for the first time, these plays testify to the rich complexity of Asian American experience while they also demonstrate the different styles and thematic concerns of the individual playwrights.
The Open Boat by Garrett K. Hongo; Garrett Hongo
ISBN: 0385423381
Contains a collection of poems dealing with the immigrant experience by poets with ties to the Asian Pacific, and short biographies of each poet
Time Is a Mother by Ocean Vuong
ISBN: 9780593300237
In this deeply intimate second poetry collection, Ocean Vuong searches for life among the aftershocks of his mother's death, embodying the paradox of sitting within grief while being determined to survive beyond it. Shifting through memory, and in concert with the themes of his novel On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous, Vuong contends with personal loss, the meaning of family, and the cost of being the product of an American war in America. At once vivid, brave, and propulsive, Vuong's poems circle fragmented lives to find both restoration as well as the epicenter of the break.
Watermark by Barbara Tran; Monique Truong (Editor); Luu T. Khoi (Editor)
ISBN: 1889876054
Here, the most innovative contemporary Vietnamese American writers explore thematic and stylistic territory previously overlooked in other collections, which have traditionally focused on the all-too-expected theme of war. Watermark lifts all constraints, leaving the works to reset the boundaries for themselves. And they do -- using poetry, fiction, and experimental forms to venture further into the fringes of the Vietnamese American psyche. There they find a dead dog and hockey puck, a frozen (literally) grandmother, a hairpiece, Gertrude Stein, and a stick of spearmint gum. Here fiction and poetry reflect and refract on adolescence and sexuality, language, death, and distance. The result is a sly, haunting, wry look at life anywhere.