LibGuides: Chemistry: Online Databases

What is a Scholarly Article?

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Short, illustrative and interactive guide to recognizing a scholarly article.
Scholarly Journals (Video)
From Vanderbilt University Library, this short video explains how to recognize scholarly articles and journals.

OSTI This link opens in a new window
The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), a unit of the Office of Science, fulfills agency-wide responsibilities to collect, preserve, and disseminate both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information (STI) emanating from DOE-funded research and development (R&D) activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide.

The following databases will prove helpful in finding information pertaining to chemistry and related fields:

Las siguientes bases de datos serán útiles para encontrar información relacionada con la química y campos relacionados:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
OSTI This link opens in a new window
The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), a unit of the Office of Science, fulfills agency-wide responsibilities to collect, preserve, and disseminate both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information (STI) emanating from DOE-funded research and development (R&D) activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide.