Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History Databases at the McCarthy Library
The American History and Life Database provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years. This source has proved to be an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Students can limit results to a specific history period (by indicating year or era), as well as limit by publication, full-text and peer-reviewed articles.
America: History and Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
European Views of the Americas 1493-1760 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
General Databases Useful for Historical Research
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
EBSCO eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's eBook collection provides access to over 200,000 digitized books, including academic titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The Humanities and Social Sciences collection of database from JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Napa County Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of local Napa County newspapers including the American Canyon Eagle, the Napa Valley Register, the St. Helena Star, and the Weekly Calistogan.
Primary Source Databases
Calisphere This link opens in a new window
This fantastic resource provides primary source materials to tell the story of California's role in national and world events. It contains more than 150,000 photographs, documents, works of art, newspaper clippings, political cartoons and other cultural artifacts. Calisphere is a service of the University of California Libraries, and powered by the California Digital Library