LibGuides: Biology: Online Databases

Why Use Databases? / ¿Por qué utilizar bases de datos?

The McCarthy Library has a good collection of databases to assist you in your science research. You can limit your article search to full-text as well as to scholarly and peer reviewed articles.

La Biblioteca de McCarthy tiene una buena colección de bases de datos para ayudarte en la investigación científica. Puedes limitar tu búsqueda de artículos de texto completo, así como de académicos y artículos de revisión.

Online Databases for Molecular and Cellular Biology

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Health Source This link opens in a new window
This full-text database covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, women's health, and more. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
OSTI This link opens in a new window
The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), a unit of the Office of Science, fulfills agency-wide responsibilities to collect, preserve, and disseminate both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information (STI) emanating from DOE-funded research and development (R&D) activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide.

Molecular Biology Related Indexes

Entrez
Entrez is a suite of databases by the National Library of Medicine covering many aspects of molecular biology. It is a major access point for genetic information concerning all living organisms and viruses. However, its complex structure can be challenging to use.

Entrez es un conjunto de bases de datos de la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina que abarcan muchos aspectos de la biología molecular. Es un importante punto de acceso a la información genética sobre todos los organismos vivos y los virus. Sin embargo, su compleja estructura puede ser difícil de usar.
PubMed
PUBMED covers all areas of biomedicine, including cell and molecular biology, genetics, etc. as well as clinical medicine.

PUBMED Abarca todos los ámbitos de la biomedicina, incluida la biología celular y molecular, genética, etc., así como la medicina clínica.

Search Engines Using AI

Semantic Scholar is a free, AI-powered research tool for scientific literature. Use it to search all fields of science.