LibGuides: Ecology: Websites

Ecology Websites

Amazonian Fishes and their Habitats
Amazonian Fishes and their Habitats is based on a multimedia CD collection written by Dr Peter Henderson, of Pisces Conservation and the University of Oxford. Dr Henderson is one of the leading authorities on the fish of the Amazon Basin. These pages hold a small fraction of the superb resource of information on the CD, which is available from Pisces Conservation.
AmphiabiaWeb
AmphibiaWeb provides information on amphibian declines, natural history, conservation and taxonomy.
Animal Diversity Web
Online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
EarthTrends
A portal for environmental information worldwide.
Encyclopedia of Life
An encyclopedia that compiled information for a variety of sources, intended to have an article for every species of organism on Earth.
FishBase
A fully-referenced database on fish species.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility
The data sets accessible through GVIF relate to evidence about more than 1.5 million species, collected over three centuries of natural history exploration and including current observations from citizen scientists, researchers and automated monitoring programs.
Mammal Species of the World
A database of mammalian taxonomy that can be used as a convenient online reference for identifying or verifying recognized scientific names and for taxonomic research.
PLANTS Database
This database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. A product of the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.
The Plant List
This working list of all known plant species aims to be a comprehensive list for species of vascular plants (flowering plants, conifers, ferns and their allies) and of bryophytes (mosses and liverworts).

What is Impact Factor?

What is Impact Factor?

"The impact factor, often abbreviated IF, is a measure reflecting the average number of citations to articles published in science and social science journals. It is frequently used as a proxy for the relative importance of a journal within its field, with journals with higher impact factors deemed to be more important than those with lower ones. The impact factor was devised by Eugene Garfield, the founder of the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), now part of Thomson Reuters. Impact factors are calculated yearly for those journals that are indexed in Thomson Reuter's Journal Citation Reports" (Wikipedia, 2009).

E-Journals relating to Ecology/Environmental Science

Acta Amazonica through SciELO
The Scientific Electronic Library Online is an electronic library covering a selected collection of Brazilian scientific journals.
Acta Geographica
Acta Geographica Debrecina Landscape & Environment is a peer-reviewed journal, with 2 issues per year. From the Dept. of Landscape Protection and Environmental Geography at the University of Debrecen, their aim is to publish the new results of landscape and environmental studies.
Agricola
"The National Agricultural Library is one of four national libraries of the United States. It houses one of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections and serves as the nexus for a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture Field Libraries."
Biodiversity Informatics
Hosted by the University of Kansas, this electronic journal "focuses on the emerging field of biodiversity informatics - the creation, integration, analysis, and understanding of information regarding biological diversity."
Biodiversity Journal
From the webpage: "The mission of the journal is to contribute to the growth and societal relevance of the disciplines of biodiversity through its role in the dissemination of taxonomical, ecological and biogeographical research. To that end, the editorial policy is that the journal seeks to be representative of the disciplines of biodiversity, to be global in scope, and to be inclusive of major traditions and viewpoints within these discipline."
The Canadian Field-Naturalist
From the website: "A peer-reviewed scientific journal publishing ecology, behaviour, taxonomy, conservation, and other topics relevant to Canadian natural history."
Frontiers in Ecology
This journal consists of peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of ecology, the environment, and related disciplines. They do provide open access to their special issues.
BioOne
From the Website: "BioOne is a nonprofit publisher that aims to make scientific research more accessible through a growing portfolio of products including its full-text aggregation, BioOne Complete, and open access journal, Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene."

U.S. Government Websites Relating to Environmental Sciences

U.S. Department of Agriculture
Information from the USDA runs the gamut from biotechnology to food safety to sustainable development.
U.S. Department of Interior
U.S. Department of the Interior Home Page
Several of the DoI's bureaus deal with the environment of the United States:◦National Park Service
◦Fish & Wildlife Service
◦Bureau of Land Management
◦Geological Survey
◦Bureau of Reclamation

Geology Websites

Geology.com
Earth Science News, Maps, Dictionary, Articles, Jobs
Mineralogy Database
Each mineral has a page linked to tables devoted to crystallography, crystal structures, X-Ray powder diffraction, chemical composition, physical and optical properties, Dana's New Classification, Strunz classification, mineral specimen images, and alphabetical listings of mineral species. There are also extensive links to other external sources of mineral data and information.

Ecology: Websites

Ecology Websites

What is Impact Factor?

E-Journals relating to Ecology/Environmental Science

U.S. Government Websites Relating to Environmental Sciences

Geology Websites

Science Daily - Earth and Environment

Cameleon