In this title, editor C.J. Shane has compiled primary-source information that outlines the depth and breadth of Mexican immigrants' experiences in America. Ironically, the ancestors of a significant minority of these Mexican immigrants probably had some stake in lands that now are American but once were Mexican.
As part of a bilateral commitment to focus on winning World War II, over 100,000 contracts were signed between 1943 and 1945 to recruit and transport Mexican workers to the United States for employment on the railroads. A little-known companion to the widely criticized agricultural bracero program, the railroad bracero program corresponded in its implementation more closely to the original intent of both governments than did its agricultural counterpart.
>In A Sense of Place , renowned wine expert and writer Steven Kolpan tells the story of how Francis Ford Coppola brought California's most distinguished and historic vineyard back to life.
Gustave Niebaum's Inglenook Estate, started in 1879, was one of the Napa Valley's first established vineyards and the birthplace of its premium wine industry. Generations after Niebaum's death, the vineyard was sold to Heublein, the wine and spirits monolith, who broke up the land and changed the Inglenook brand from a premium, connoisseur wine to a mass-market jug wine.
The focus of this study of Mexican Agricultural workers in United States, 1900-1960, is directed to an economic analysis of international labor mobility in its broader terms and bi-national basis. This involves examining political realities within each country involved and by the relationship between their governments.
Bracero Families
photographs: 0 votes (0%)
paper documents: 0 votes (0%)
clothing: 0 votes (0%)
songs/music: 0 votes (0%)
being interviewed: 0 votes (0%)
contact me: 1 votes (100%)
Total Votes: 1
Databases allow access to digitized historical articles.
CREDO contains all kinds of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles from some of the top university presses in the United States. It also includes over 200,000 images and audio files and over 1200 videos.
Browse and select academic e-books. This collection contains high-quality titles from a broad range of subject and topic areas in a downloadable full-text format.
Minerva provides access to summary descriptions of the vast documentary treasures maintained by the California State Archives. A division of the Office of the Secretary of State, the California State Archives is responsible for the management and preservation of state government records
Calisphere: your gateway to California’s remarkable digital collections. Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over 400,000 photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.
With money from a bequest from the Kunasek estate, a searchable archive has been created to provide images of the actual page of the newspaper that can be made into a file for emailing or downloading. Both Napa’s and Calistoga’s newspaper holdings comprise the archive. (Note: if you get a message that you are logged out continue to click on the logon button until it opens)
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more.
The Rutherford Dust Society’s mission is to encourage and promote the highest quality standards in grape growing and winemaking in the Rutherford Viticultural Area, to be good stewards of the land while building community, and to help wine lovers and the wine trade discover Rutherford’s expression of its unique terroir.
The mission of Napa County Historical Society is to discover and keep history alive through exhibits, lectures, and events, as well as research, publications, and educational activities. We are a membership-based archival and educational organization dedicated to the discovery, preservation and presentation of the people and history of Napa County and its place in California history. Along with general keyword search in the catalog a researcher may search for photos and archival material.
The Mexicans by 
The Tracks North by 
A Sense of Place by 
