LibGuides: Napa History: Archives

Online Archives of California

Online Archive of California /State Archives
Finding Aids to California State Archives to access Bracero Records
California State Archive Minerva Catalog
Minerva provides access to summary descriptions of the vast documentary treasures maintained by the California State Archives. A division of the Office of the Secretary of State, the California State Archives is responsible for the management and preservation of state government records
Calisphere
Calisphere: your gateway to California’s remarkable digital collections. Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over 400,000 photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.
more...less...
Calisphere is a project of the University of California Libraries, developed and maintained by the California Digital Library

Napa County Library Digital Newspaper Archive
With money from a bequest from the Kunasek estate, a searchable archive has been created to provide images of the actual page of the newspaper that can be made into a file for emailing or downloading. Both Napa’s and Calistoga’s newspaper holdings comprise the archive. (Note: if you get a message that you are logged out continue to click on the logon button until it opens)

Tips for Using Napa Newspaper Archive
Guide to accessing and searching in the newspaper archive.

California Historical Society Archives
North Baker Research Library Catalog
more...less...
Search the collections of the CHS for books, manuscripts, visual and audio materials. Hint: use "agricultural laborers" in addition to "Bracero"

Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.

Digital Public Library of America
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more.