The Upper Valley Campus (UVC) is offering Spring Beekeeping for Beginners course on Saturday, April 21 from 1-4pm in the UVC gardens. To pre-register online go to www.napavalley.edu/commedreg. This course is perfect for those who have little or no beekeeping experience who seek more knowledge and practical hands-on skills in order to begin owning and caring for their own honeybee colonies. Designed primarily for those wishing to explore beekeeping, gain understanding about honeybee behavior, and learn options for the management of honeybee colonies, this two hour class is also an excellent opportunity for people with prior beekeeping experience to refresh and hone their beekeeping skills while gaining knowledge of the latest information on beekeeping options. Led by Jon Sevigny, longtime beekeeper, beekeeping mentor, and lead for the Napa Valley Beekeeper's Association, this engaging mix of hands-on activities and lecture includes essential beekeeping topics and how-to-skills: the importance of bees, honeybee biology basics, beekeeping equipment, beekeeping resources and how to connect to the local beekeeping community. This Libguide is just one of the many resources available to support students taking this course.
Fun Facts About Bees
In the course of her lifetime, a worker bee will produce 1/12th of a teaspoon of honey.
To make one pound of honey, workers in a hive fly 55,000 miles and tap two million flowers.
A productive hive can make and store up to two pounds of honey a day. Thirty-five pounds of honey provides enough energy for a small colony to survive the winter.
Theoretically, the energy in one ounce of honey would provide one bee with enough energy to fly around the world.
Most researchers believe the honeybee originated in Africa. The first European colonists introduced Apis mellifera, the common honeybee, to the Americas. Native Americans referred to the bees as "White Man's Fly." Today honeybees can be found all over the world.
Bees have five eyes. The three ocelli are simple eyes that discern light intensity, while each of the two large compound eyes contains about 6,900 facets and is well suited for detecting movement. While bees cannot recognize the color red, they do see ultraviolet colors.
Beekeeping in the Napa Valley
The Death of Bees Explained
Beginner Beekeeping (A series of videos from the University of Georgia Continuing Education)
A Supermarket without Bees
What Happens If All the Bees Die?
Pollinators Extra-Ordinaire
Books / eBooks / DVDs
The Classics
The Beekeeper's Bible by Richard A. Jones; Sharon Sweeney-Lynch
ISBN: 9781584799184
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Langstroth's Hive and the Honey-Bee by L. L. Langstroth
To read the following E-Books, go to the E-Books database link on the Library's database page (scroll down), click on E-Books, then search by the keyword: Beekeeping, or search by book title.
Honey bee viruses have been widely surveyed and sampled for through the USDA APHIS Honey Bee Survey, BIP Tech Team samples, Emergency Response Kits, and other samples processed through joint co-operations through the University of Maryland bee lab. To share the results of these surveys through an openly accessible visualization, we have released a dynamically explorable map...
SolutionBee, widely known within the beekeeping community for its HM-20 Hive Monitor introduced several years ago, has now made its next generation Hive Monitor product, the HM-5 available. The form factor and functionality of the new HM-5 is very similar to the earlier HM-20. It collects both the weight, external temperature and humidity every 15...
More and more US beekeepers are starting to place their bees in sheds for the fall, for indoor wintering. While beekeepers in Canada have done this for decades, the popularity of the practice in the US is more recent. Beekeepers began by using structures already built for onion and potato storage in Idaho to house...
Naming yards isn’t complicated but it’s an important aspect of managing a large commercial operation in order to facilitate communication between staff. Many states require apiary sites to be registered which requires filing paperwork that names the yard in addition to providing some basic information about location (latitude, longitude or nearest intersection), property ownership, and...
IT IS GIVING TUESDAY! The Bee Informed Partnership’s – our friends call us BIP – mission is to help beekeepers keep colonies alive using real world data. We have come a long way in the last 5 years, and we couldn’t have done it without beekeeper participation. But running BIP costs money, and while we...
"This site provides education and outreach to the public and beekeepers to protect public safety within San Diego County in response to the new apiary ordinance. The site has been developed by the University of California Cooperative Extension - Farm and Home Advisers Office in San Diego County with support from the San Diego County - Agriculture, Weights, and Measures Office."
The Center for Honeybee Research is an IRS recognized 501-C (3) educational charitable organization. This organization's members believe in “natural” beekeepers - by which is meant - refraining from placing chemicals and antibiotics in bee hives. They don’t believe that so much honey or pollen should be removed from a colony it needs to be fed to stave off starvation. Instead, the Center for Honeybee Research strives for maximum genetic diversity by encouraging stocks that are acclimatized to the environments in which they live.
A biologist shares his knowledge of beekeeping using evidence-based and scientifically-verified explanations of the biological processes occurring in the hive, as well as the effects of various management options. He then leave it to each beekeeper to use that information in order to make their own better-informed practical management decisions.
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
CREDO contains all kinds of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles from some of the top university presses in the United States. It also includes over 200,000 images and audio files and over 1200 videos.
The Bee Informed Partnership is a collaboration of efforts across the country from some of the leading research labs and universities in agriculture and science to better understand honey bee declines in the United States.
Since native bee species differ in the season when they emerge from overwintering, bee gardens should contain plants with attractive flowers at different times of the year.
The Beekeeper's Bible by 
Langstroth's Hive and the Honey-Bee by 
Honeybee Democracy by 
The Beekeeper's Handbook by 
The Backyard Beekeeper's Honey Handbook by 
Beekeeper's Problem Solver by 
Beekeeping for Dummies by 
Bees in America by 
Better Beekeeping by 
The Bees in Your Backyard by 
Fruitless Fall by 
The Hive by 
Homegrown Honey Bees by 
The Practical Beekeeper Volume I, II and III by 
Vanishing Bees by 
Buzz by 
The Quest for the Perfect Hive by 
