ENGL 125: Winter-Social Justice: Websites

           Websites:  Race

• Black History Month_February
  Black History Month is an annual celebration of achievements by African Americans and a time for recognizing the central role of blacks in U.S. history. Since 1976, every U.S. president has officially designated the month of February as Black History Month. Other countries around the world, including Canada and the United Kingdom, also devote a month to celebrating black history. 
• Black History Month_February_28 films
• NYT chief film critics have chosen essential 28 Films, 28 days for Black History Month movies from the 20th century that convey the larger history of black Americans in cinema.
• Black Lives Matter

  From the website: Black Lives Matter is a chapter-based national organization working for the validity of Black life. We are working to (re)build the Black liberation movement. This is Not a Moment, but a Movement.
• Citizenship and Social Justice: The Website of Educator and Writer Jon Greenberg
• Colorlines

  From the website: "Colorlines is a daily news site where race matters, featuring award-winning investigative reporting and news analysis."
• Decolonization: Indigeneity, Education & Society

  From the website: " Decolonization is a journal which centers and privileges various forms of Indigenous knowledges and decolonial epistemologies and methodologies for the purpose of decolonization."
• Fatal Force: A Washington Post investigation of people shot and killed by police in 2016

  From the website: "This database is based on news reports, public records, social media and other sources."
• Matrix Center

  From the website: "To examine and challenge systems of oppression and privilege in society, and implement effective solutions through comprehensive educational programming, literature, institutes, and workshops locally, nationally, and beyond."
• The Movement for Black Lives Policy Table

  From the website: "In response to the sustained and increasingly visible violence against Black communities in the U.S. and globally, a collective of more than 50 organizations representing thousands of Black people from across the country have come together with renewed energy and purpose to articulate a common vision and agenda."
• The Praxis Project

  From the website: "The Praxis Project is a nonprofit movement support intermediary and an institution of color that supports organizing and change work at local, regional and national levels. Focused on movement building for fundamental change, our mission is to build healthy communities by changing the power relationships between people of color and the institutional structures that affect their lives."
• Showing Up for Racial Justice (SURJ)

  From the website: "SURJ is a national network of groups and individuals organizing White people for racial justice. Through community organizing, mobilizing, and education, SURJ moves White people to act as part of a multi-racial majority for justice with passion and accountability. We work to connect people across the country while supporting and collaborating with local and national racial justice organizing efforts. SURJ provides a space to build relationships, skills and political analysis to act for change."
• Understanding & Dismantling Privilege: The official journal of the White Privilege Conference

  From the website: "An interdisciplinary journal focusing on the intersectional aspects of privilege, bridging academia and practice, highlighting activism, and offering a forum for creative introspection on issues of inequity, power and privilege."
  
  Websites:  Gender
• Black, Trans and Proud

  From the website: "In honor of Transgender Awareness Week, NBJC launched Black, Trans & Proud, a campaign promoting trans visibility and raising consciousness in the Black community. Black, Trans & Proud called for community members to submit their photos and testimonials telling us what makes them walk with their heads held high and full of pride."

  The Body is not an Apology

  From the website: "The Body Is Not An Apology is an international movement committed to cultivating global Radical Self Love and Body Empowerment. We believe that discrimination, social inequality, and injustice are manifestations of our inability to make peace with the body, our own and others."

  Digital Transgender Archive (DTA)

  From the website: "The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than twenty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history."

  Everyday Feminism

  From the website: "Our mission is to help people dismantle everyday violence, discrimination, and marginalization through applied intersectional feminism and to create a world where self-determination and loving communities are social norms through compassionate activism."
   

  Websites:  Sexual Orientation
  BDG: Black Girl Dangerous

  From the website: "BGD is a reader-funded, non-profit project. Black Girl Dangerous is the brainchild of award-winning writer Mia McKenzie. What started out as a scream of anguish has evolved into a multi-faceted forum for expression. BGD seeks to, in as many ways as possible, amplify the voices, experiences and expressions of queer and trans people of color."

  Black New Yorkers

  Black New Yorkers, a survey of 400 years of African-American history in New York, tells the story of sixteen generations of New Yorkers in essays, prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, tables, and newspapers. The exhibition is partly based on The Black New Yorkers: The Schomburg Illustrated Chronology by Howard Dodson, Christopher Moore, and Roberta Yancy (New York: John Wiley & Sons, 2000).

  LGBTQ Students and College Affordability

  From the website: "Our guide to LGBTQ colleges breaks down the individual components that make a campus LGBTQ-friendly, and is intended to help you navigate potential schools."

  Queer Cartoonist Database

  The Cartoonists of Color and Queer Cartoonists databases were created and are currently maintained by cartoonist MariNaomi as a way to spotlight marginalized comics creators. The databases are used by booksellers, librarians, academics, editors, book publishers, event organizers, readers, and more.

  What's Your Issue?

  From the website: "WHAT’S YOUR ISSUE? is a national participatory action research project designed with lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, and gender nonconforming (LGBTQ & GNC) youth to document the dreams, desires, and priorities of LGBTQ & GNC youth. We are organized around the belief that LGBTQ & GNC youth have the right to research the conditions of their own lives and set a self-determined agenda. WHAT’S YOUR ISSUE? brings together LGBTQ and GNC youth, adults, academics, artists, and organizers as co-researchers to lift the key issues facing LGBTQ & GNC youth from the ground up."

  
  Websites:  Class
  PolicyLink
  From the website: "PolicyLink is a national research and action institute advancing economic and social equity by Lifting Up What Works."

  The Southern Poverty Law Center

  From the website: "The SPLC is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society. Using litigation, education, and other forms of advocacy, the SPLC works toward the day when the ideals of equal justice and equal opportunity will be a reality." The important resources include “Intelligence Report”, the quarterly publication provides comprehensive updates to law enforcement agencies, the media and the general public.

   

  Websites:  Ability/Disability

  Black, Disabled, and Proud: College Students with Disabilities

  From the website: "We are a group of colleagues working in disability services at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and Predominantly Black Colleges and Universities (PBCUs). The project was set up as a partnership between the University of the District of Columbia, Howard University, and Syracuse University, and the Association on Higher Education And Disability (AHEAD). The project is now permanently based at AHEAD."

  Center for Parent Information & Resources

  From the website: "Parent Centers also receive many requests for information about inclusion of children with disabilities in all walks of life, and especially in regular classes and the daily activities of our schools. We are pleased to offer you a separate page of resources on the subject of inclusion"

  Council for Disability Awareness

  From the website: "If you become disabled, will you be ready? Or will you and your loved ones face serious financial hardship, possibly foreclosure and even bankruptcy? Good news. The Council for Disability Awareness can help you prepare for disability the same way you plan for other emergencies"

  Designing for Accessibility

  This blogpost about designing for accessibility shows a series of simple and attractive posters with tips for making accessibility a priority in design choices.

  Disability: Benefits, Facts and Resources for Persons with Disabilities

  This link provides information concerning disabilities including latest health issues.

  Disability Awareness Information

  Detailed information about "Disability Etiquette" and more.

  National Black Disability Coalition

  From the website: "The National Black Disability Coalition (NBDC) is a response to the need for Blacks with Disabilities in America to organize around issues of mutual concern and use our collective strength to address disability issues with an emphasis on people who live in poverty."

  Smithsonian Guidelines for Accessible Exhibition Design

  From the website: " Smithsonian Guidelines for Accessible Exhibition Design is a living document. The design tools here, like all creative resources, must be mixed and matched and tested in different combinations to find workable solutions. Updates, adjustments and refinements will be distributed by the Accessibility Program as better tools are devised."

  
  Websites:  Religion

  Covering and Avoiding Religious Hate Speech (guide for journalists by religion link)

  From the website: "This guide is a part of a series on religious tolerance and combating hate speech online, brought to you with support from Google."

  Islamophobia (The Huffington Post)

  From the website: "We're tracking Islamophobic incidents across the U.S. because the only way to stop hate is to confront it."