Skip to Main Content

Napa Valley College Banner

Welcome to Napa Valley College Library

Asian and Pacific Islander American Heritage Month May 2024: HOME


Welcome to the Asian and Pacific Islander American Heritage Month library guide for May 2024!

Asian and Pacific Islander Americans have been fundamental, albeit often unrecognized in the history books, participants in and builders of the American experience. In order to bring more recognition the achievements of individuals with this identity, the U.S. Congress established Asian/Pacific American Month in May 1992. Today, there are around 25 million people who identify as Asian in the United States, with the greatest populations identifying as Chinese (except Taiwanese), Asian Indian, Filipino, Vietnamese, Korean, and Japanese. Almost 2 million people identify as Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander American, with the largest groups being Hawaiian, Samoan, and Chamorro. 

Asian Americans

Asian Americans are Americans who descend from people originating from any of the 48 countries in Asia. 

Map of Asia
Credit: World Atlas

Map of Asia

Countries in Asia:

  • Afghanistan
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • Cyprus
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • North Korea
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Russia (East of Ural Mountains and Ural River)
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • State of Palestine
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Thailand
  • Timor Leste
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen

Pacific Islander Americans

Pacific Islander Americans are those who originate from any island in the Pacific Ocean and identify as American, whether through naturalization or as citizens of the state of Hawai'i or the U.S. territories of Guam, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. 

Map of Pacific Island Nations
Credit: Pacific Research & Discourse

Map showing Micronesia, Melanesia, and Polynesia. The Mariana Islands are part of Micronesia; Samoa is part of Polynesia; Guam is not depicted.

Countries and Territories in the Pacific Islands

  • American Samoa
  • Australia
  • Cook Islands
  • Fiji
  • French Polynesia
  • Guam
  • Hawai'i
  • Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia
  • Nauru
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Niue
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tokelau
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • Wallis and Futuna