MLA Style 9th Edition: Works Cited

 

1. Author(s). [One author example: Castelli, Darla M.; Two author example: Castelli, Darla M. and David Goss.; Three or more authors example: Castelli, Darla M. et al.]
2. "Title of the Article." [capitalized and in quotation marks]
3. Title of the Newspaper or Publication, [capitalized and in italics]
4. Publication date, [formatted like this: Day Mo. Year]
5. pp. xxx-xxx. [starting page number - ending page number, with pp. in front]
6. URL. [use permalink if available and remove http://]
7. Accessed Day Mo. Year. [Optional, but recommended when publication date is unknown]

 

Magazine Article (from a database)

Hiatt, Brian. "The Psychedelic Superhero."Rolling Stone, 1 Sep. 2011, pp. 48-74. ccsf.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=f6h&AN=65034462&site=ehost-live.

Newspaper Article (from a website)

Cochrane, Emily, and Noah Weiland. "Hillary Clinton, the N.F.L., Roy Moore and Other Asides from the President." New York Times, 16 Nov. 2018, nyti.ms/2zf1TPB.

 

1. Author(s). [One author example: Castelli, Darla M.; Two author example: Castelli, Darla M. and David Goss.; Three or more authors example: Castelli, Darla M. et al.]
2. Title of the Book. [capitalized and in italics]
3. Edition [number] ed., [if any, such as 3rd or 5th, followed by ed.]
4. Publisher, [capitalized]
5. Year.

If an eBook accessed in a library database...

6. Database, [in italics]
7. DOI or URL. [Digital object identifier always preferred. If using URL, use permalink if available and remove http://]
8. Accessed Day Mo. Year. [Optional, recommended when publication date is unknown]

 

Print Book

Bell, Suzanne S. Librarian's Guide to Online Searching: Cultivating Database Skills for Research and Instruction. 4th ed., Libraries Unlimited, 2015.

eBook

Siegel, Ethan. Beyond the Galaxy: How Humanity Looked beyond Our Milky Way and Discovered the Entire Universe. World Scientific, 2016. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1105694&site=ehost-live

(Use when citing a chapter, essay, story, poem or entry from a book.)

 

1. Author(s) of the Chapter/Essay. [One author example: Castelli, Darla M.; Two author example: Castelli, Darla M. and David Goss.; Three or more authors example: Castelli, Darla M. et al.]
2. "Title of the Chapter/Essay." [capitalized and in quotes]
3. Title of the Book, [capitalized and in italics]
4. Edited by , [First and Last Names of the editors, separated by commas if more than one]
5. Edition [number] ed., [if any, such as 3rd or 5th, followed by ed.]
6. Publisher, [capitalized]
7. Year,
8. pp. xxx-xxx. [starting page number - ending page number, with pp. in front]

If an eBook chapter accessed from a library database...

9. Database Name, [capitalized and in italics]
10. DOI or URL. [Digital object identifier always preferred. If using URL, use permalink if available and remove http://]
11. Accessed Day Mo. Year. [Optional, but recommended when publication date is unknown]

 

Chapter from a Print Book

Jackson, Shirley. "The Lottery." An Introduction to Fiction, edited by X.J. Kennedy, 5th ed., HarperCollins, 1991, pp. 194-200.

Chapter from an eBook

Halopeau, Bruno. "Terrorist Use of the Internet." Cyber Crime and Cyber Terrorism Investigator's Handbook, edited by Babak Akhgar, Andrew Staniforth, and Francesca Bosco, Syngress, 2014. O'Reilly for Higher Education, learning.oreilly.com/library/view/cyber-crime-and/9780128007433/B9780128007433000104.xhtml.

 

1. Author. [if any, capitalized]
2. "Title of Webpage/Article." [capitalized and in quotes]
3. Title of Website, [capitalized and in italics]
4. Name of Publisher/Organization, [include and capitalize only if different from title of website]
5. Date of Publication, [if any, formatted like this: Day Mo. Year]
6. URL. [remove http://]
7. Accessed Day Mo. Year. [Optional, but recommended when publication date is unknown]

 

Examples

"Coping with Stress." Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3 Sep. 2019, www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/suicide/copingwith-stresstips.html.

"MLA Formatting and Style Guide." Purdue Online Writing Lab, owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/mla_style/mla_formatting_and_style_guide/. Accessed 27 Nov. 2019.

 

1. Director Name. Last name, First name.
2. Title of Film/Video. Capitalized and in italics, followed by period.
3. Name of Film Distribution Company, Capitalized and followed by comma,
4. Date of Production/Release.Year of production.
5. Title of website where film/video was viewed, Capitalized, italicized, and followed by uploader name, if any, then a comma,
6. Date of access/viewing, Day Mo. Year followed by comma,
7. URL. Web address with http:// removed, followed by period.

 

Examples

Schwartzberg, Louis. Fantastic Fungi. Moving Art, 2019. YouTube Movies, uploaded by Bitmax, 3 Sep 2020, youtu.be/C7abxMxL4so

 

1. Artist Name. Last name, First name, followed by period. If no artist, leave blank.
2. Title or Description of Image. Capitalize all major words and put in italics, followed by period.
3. Date, Date the artwork was created, followed by period.
4. Website Name, Capitalized and italicized, followed by comma,
5. URL. Web address with http:// removed, followed by period.

 

Example

See more examples of citing images from the MLA Style Center

Concretion of Ceramics from the Hoi An Shipwreck. approx. 1450-1500. Asian Art Museum Chong-Moon Lee Center for Asian Art and Culture, asianart.emuseum.com/view/objects/asitem/items$0040:14318.