This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
Ethnic Diversity Source covers culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of:
African Americans
Arab Americans
Asian Americans
European Americans
Jewish Americans
Latinx Americans
Native Americans
Multiracial Americans
Coverage includes publications from 2010 to present. Showcasing exceptional scholarship, engaging writing, and innovative research, California History is essential reading for students and scholars of the history of California, the West, and the Pacific World; teachers of California history; and all Californians who are curious to understand the imprint of the state’s rich past upon the West, the United States, and the world beyond.
Black History Untold explores the many ways Black people have resisted throughout history. When we hear commentary from acclaimed celebrities that allude to slavery being a choice or when contemporary textbooks refer to the enslaved as “workers”, or when the white savior narrative is pervasive, it begins to wipe away the centuries-old diasporic fight against oppression.
We asked participants to share an untold Black revolutionary story and how it’s impacted them. Some of these stories highlight incredible Black warrior women, some share stories of contemporary revolution and some explore why Black people prioritizing pleasure, self-care, ownership and being their authentic selves is revolutionary.
The SNCC was the only national civil rights organization led by young people. SNCC focused on voter registration and on mounting a systemic challenge to the white supremacy that governed the country’s entrenched political, economic and social structures.
Via Stanford University and The Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute, this online encyclopedia lists 1,000s of civil rights movement figures, documents, events, and concepts. Scroll down to search alphabetically or use the search box at the top right.
Read about the 2023 theme of Black Resistance by the Association for the Study of African American Life and History. A listing of past themes extends back to 1928.
