There are many notable individuals who have called California their home. There are some fascinating biographies and autobiographies in this part of the collection.
The special collection houses a small but fascinating collection of biographies that focuses on historical figures in California.
| Author | Title | Call Number/Location |
|---|---|---|
| Anne Dahlstrom Farmer and Philip M O'Brien | Jessamyn West: a Descriptive and Annotated Bibliography |
CAL REF West |
| J. W. Abert | Western America in 1846-1847: The Original Travel Diary of Leuitenant J. W. Abert Who Mapped New Mexico for the United States Army |
CAL 917.89043 Abert |
| Alton Pryor | Fascinating Women in California History |
CAL 920.7209794 Pryor |
| Susheel Bibbs | Heritage of Power: Marie Laveau - Mary Ellen Pleasant |
CAL 920 Bibbs |
| William Alexander Hewitt (Editor; Grandson of Jean Adolphe Brun and Son of Edward Thomas Hewitt) | Brune Family Napa Valley: From 1974; Hewitt Family San Francisco: From 1882 (Card included from William: William A. Hewitt, Rondelay, Chadds Ford, Pensylvania 19317; December 1989; To My Family and Friends: During the past few years I have put together a pictroial "history" of my family. As indicated by its title, the book focuses on The Brun Family: Napa Valley: From 1874; The Hewitt Family: San francissco: From 1882 My principal intention in compiling this book was to distribute copies of it to living descendants of my two sets of grandparents. When printing time arrived, I decided to run off a few additional copies for friends who might like to see these personal vignettes, mostly related to Calfironia from the late 1800s until the end of World War II. With my best wishes for 1990, Bill) |
CAL 920 Brun |
| Edited by Diane Cary; Photographs by Jamie Chomas | Winters Tales: Stories, Poems, and Recollections about Life in Winters, Calfornia |
CAL 920 Winters |
| Helen Holdredge | Mammy Pleasant's Partner (Signed by Helen Holdredge) |
CAL 921 Bell |
| George Hoeper | Black Bart: Boulevardier Bandit: The Saga of California's Most Mysterious Stagecoach Robber and the Men Who Sought to Capture Him |
CAL 921 Black Bart |
| James A. B. Scherer | The First Forty Niner and the Story of the Golden Tea Caddy |
CAL 921 Brannan |
| Louis J. Stellman (Preface by Albert Shumate (President Emeritus California Historical Society) and Introduction by Kevin Starr (State Librarian of California)) | Sam Brannan: Builder of San Francisco |
CAL 921 Brannan |
| J. Cecil Alter | Jim Bridger |
CAL 921 Bridger |
| Charles L. Camp (Editor) | 1792-1881: James Clyman: Frntiersman: The Adventures of a Trapper and Covered-Wagon Emigrant as Told in His Own Reminiscences and Diaries (Definitive Edition) |
CAL 921 Clyman |
| Frank A. Leach | Recollections of a Newspaper Man: A Record of Life and Events in California (delicate spine - handle with care) |
CAL 921 Leach |
| Romilda Peri Gould | My Father Alberto (signed by Romilda Peri Gould) |
CAL 921 Peri |
| John Wichels | A Brief Biographical Sketch of Charles Hopper: Hunder, Trapper, Explorer: One of the Early Pioneers of Yountville, Napa County (A Sketch from the Archives of the Napa County Historical Society: Series Two, No. 1) |
CAL 921 Hopper |
| Charles Hopper; Franklin Beard (Editor) | Charles Hopper and the Pilgrims of the Pacific: A 1841 California Pioneer: His Narrative and Other Documents |
CAL 921 Hopper |
| Fred Blackburn Rogers | William Brown Ide: Bear Flagger |
CAL 921 Ide |
| Harlan Hague and David J. Langum | Thomas O. Larkin: A Life of Patriotism and Profit in Old California |
CAL 921 Larkin |
| Jesse Mason | History of Amador County, California: with Illustrations and Biographical Sketches of Its Prominent Man and Pioneers |
CAL 921 Mason |
| Helen Holdredge | Mammy Pleasant |
CAL 921 Pleasant |
| Anne Roller Issler | Stevenson at Silverado: The Life and Writing of Robert Louis Stevenson in the Napa Valley, California, 1880 |
CAL 921 Stevenson |
| Katherine D. Osbourne | Robert Louis Stevenson in California (1911) (fascimile of original manuscript) |
CAL 921 Stevenson |
| Nigey Lennon | Mark Twain in California: The Turbulent California Years of Samuel Clemens |
CAL 921 Twain |
| Nigey Lennon | The Sagebrush Bohemian: Mark Twain in California |
CAL 921 Twain |
| Jessamyn West | Double Discovery: A Journey (Inscription on front inside cover to Carolyn from Ann Cash, "It is wonderful to know you. This book has a little about my life (pg. 20). Congratuilations on achieving the McPherson Excellence in Teaching award. You truly deserve it.") |
CAL 921 West |
| Jessamyn West | The Woman Said Yes: Encounters with Life and Death: Memoirs by Jassamyn West (Signed by Jassamyn West "with the best") |
CAL 921 West |
| Charles L. Camp (Editor) | George C. Yount and His Chronicles of the West: Comprising Extracts from His "Memoirs" and from the Orange Clark "Narrative" (contains fold-out map inside back cover) |
CAL 921 Yount |
| Joe E. Milner (his Grandson) and Earle R. Forrest | California Joe: Noted Scout and Indian Fighter (with an Authentic Account of Custer's Last Fight by Colonel Williamn H. C. Bowen; Forward by Joseph G. Rosa) (FYI: California Joe's real name was Moses Ebree Milner) |
CAL 923.973 Milner |
| Will Bagley (editor and compiler) | Scoundrel's Tale: The Samuel Brannan Papers |
CAL 978 Brannan |
| Robert Brownlee (Edited by Patricia A. Etter) | An American Odyssey: The Autobiography of Robert Brownlee |
CAL 978 Brownlee |
| Edward F. Treadwell | The Cattle King: The Biography of Henry Miller, Founder of the Miller and Lux Cattle Empire |
CAL 978 Treadwell |
|
Howard C. Gardiner (Edited by: Dale L. Morgan) |
In Persuit of the Golden Dream: Reminiscences of San Francisco and the Northern and Southern Mines, 1849-1857 |
CAL 979.404 Gardiner |
| William B. Secrest | California Desperadoes: Stories of Early California Outlaws in Their Own Word |
CAL 979.404 Secrest |
| I. C. Adams | Memoirs and Anecdotes of Early Days in Calistoga |
CAL 979.419 Adams |
| Joe Callizo and Robert R. Smith | Local History: A Sketch: Series Three: No. 3: The Pope Family (signed by Joe Callizo) (1985) |
CAL 979.419 Callizo |
| Cecelia Elkington Setty | Atlas Peak: A History of a Napa County Settler: 1870-1902 |
CAL 979.419 Setty |
| Lin Weber | Under the Vine and the Fig Tree: The Jews of the Napa Valley |
CAL 979.419 Weber |
| [Marguerite Hunt and Harry Lawrence Gunn (information from WorldCat)] | History of Solano and Napa Counties California: From Their Earliest Settlement to the Present Time: Volume II (Biographical) |
CAL 979.452 Hunt v. 2 |
| Rudy Calles | Champion Prune Pickers: Migrant Worker's Dilemma |
CAL 979.473 Calles |