Whenever folks think of Napa Valley, they most likely associate it with wine. Indeed, the wine industry is a large part of the culture that thrives in Napa Valley. This page includes a smattering of texts about various aspects of wine, including the production and distribution, as well as the wine itself. In addition to being known for wine, Napa Valley also has several wonderful restaurants, as well as the Culinary Institute of America at Greystone. Many amazing chefs have worked in and around the area, and those same chefs have created cookbooks. Although most of our cookbooks are housed in the Copia and UVC collections, there are two gems in the California collection that you should peruse should you have the opportunity to do so.
From planting to picking to the creation process to tasting to distribution, the Napa Valley Wine industry is a thriving enterprise, and there are many books that discuss these processes in several collections. There are only a few in this collection, but make sure to check out not only these, but those items in our other collections.
| Author | Title | Call Number |
|---|---|---|
| James T. Lapsley | Bottled Poetry: Napa Winemaking from Prohibition to the Modern Era |
CAL 663.200979419 Lapsley |
| Zoltan Csavas (text); Bob Thompson (prologue) | The Louis M. Martini Winery: St. Helena, Napa Valley, California: 1933-1983 (includes insert "Food to Enhance Martini Wines: Recipes from E.llizabeth Martini's Files") |
CAL 663.200979419 Louis |
| Unknown | Mt. Veeder: A Concise History of Viticulture and Enology: Commemorating the Opening of the Hess Collection Winery on Mt. Veeder |
CAL 663.200979419 Mt. Veeder |
Wine has been the drink of choice in many cultures over several centuries, and there are a number of texts which celebrate this colorful alcoholic beverage. Two are listed below.
| Author | Title | Call Number |
|---|---|---|
| Robert Lawrence Balzer | The Pleasures of Wine (Introduction by Andre Simon) (signed by author) |
CAL 641.22 Blazer |
| Benjamin Ichinose | The Cellarbook: Collection of Fine & Rare Wines (Note: Copy number 12 of Twelve) (Letter written by Benjamin Ichinose included) (Inscription by author: To a saint and dear friend, please accept my heart, my last book. Respectfully Ben and Mayor 10/17/81 2014 hrs DFW Ma "Ds") |
CAL 641.22 Ichinose |
California arguably boasts some of the tastiest and most innovative cuisine in the United States, and Napa and the Napa Valley are part of this gastronomic tradition. There are two fascinating cookbooks that reflect the historic tastes of Napa in this collection.
| Author/Compiler/Contributer/Editor | Title | Call Number |
|---|---|---|
| The Sparpsteen Museum Association | The Sharpsteen Museum Cookbook: Napa Valley Specialties |
CAL 641.5979419 Sharpsteen |
| California Prune & Apricot Growers Association | Sunsweet Recipes: Recipes for Health and Happiness (2 copies) |
CAL 641.6422 Recipes |