Winchcombe Pottery Earthenware by Michael Cardew, 1970s
Small blue vase by Maija Grotell, 1950s
Mug on columns (salt glaze) by Ruenell Foy Temps, 1974.
Raku-fired vase by John Mathieson
Slab-built stoneware with impressed leaf additions by Lynn Fisher
Square vase by Tatsuzo Shimaoka
New Books
A Manual and Source of Inspiration for Ceramic Art and Design by Anton Reijnders
Call Number: On order
ISBN: 9781789940480
Publication Date: 2021
The Ceramic Process is both a comprehensive textbook on ceramic technology and a chronicle of the developments made by the European Ceramic Work Centre (EKWC) over the years. It is a practical book which looks at materials, methods and equipment, using the results of various artists' projects to illustrate the text. EKWC is internationally renowned as a centre where ceramic artists can come for a period to experiment with new materials, methods and technologies. Their time there is funded and they are given the back-up of innovative technicians and materials to work with. The artists who have worked at the centre include some of the top names in sculpture and ceramics from around the world. These include: Neil Brownsword, Tony Cragg, Ewen Henderson, Jun Kaneko, Anish Kapoor, Kinpei Nakamura and Betty Woodman.
500 Animals in Clay by Lark Books Staff (Created by)
Call Number: On order
ISBN: 9781579907570
Publication Date: 2006-11-28
No other volume has ever presented such a diverse and captivating collection of contemporary animal-themed ceramics. Juried by distinguished artist and educator Joe Bova, this magnificent gallery includes pieces from an international group of artists.
500 Prints on Clay by Lark Crafts Staff
Call Number: On order
ISBN: 9781454703310
Publication Date: 2013-03-05
This breathtaking entry in the highly successful 500 Ceramics series ventures into the hottest area of modern ceramics: image transfer on clay. Juried by the renowned artist and teacher Paul Andrew Wandless, it showcases a visually intriguing collection of contemporary work in this rapidly evolving field.
The Ceramics Studio Guide by Jeff Zamek; Steven Branfman (Foreword by)
Call Number: 738.1 Zamek (On order)
ISBN: 9780764356483
Publication Date: 2019-01-28
Learning from others' mistakes is always more efficient and less costly than committing them yourself. This book is packed with practical information that will enable potters to successfully complete the many steps in pottery construction and production.
Clay by Suzanne Staubach
Call Number: On order
ISBN: 9781611685039
Publication Date: 2013-09-03
More than a third of the houses in the world are made of clay. Clay vessels were instrumental in the invention of cooking, wine and beer making, and international trade. Our toilets are made of clay. The first spark plugs were thrown on the potter's wheel. Clay has played a vital role in the health and beauty fields. Indeed, this humble material was key to many advances in civilization, including the development of agriculture and the invention of baking, architecture, religion, and even the space program. In Clay, Suzanne Staubach takes a lively look at the startling history of the mud beneath our feet. Told with verve and erudition, this story will ensure you won't see the world around you in quite the same way after reading the book.
The Complete Guide to Mid-Range Glazes by John Britt
Call Number: On order
ISBN: 9781454707776
Publication Date: 2014-11-04
According to Ceramics Monthly, approximately 75% of potters glaze their pieces at mid-range temperatures--and this complete studio guide eliminates the guesswork from the popular process. Along with hundreds of recipes, it explores mixing, application, specific firing and cooling cycles, and all the factors that make glazes work.
Fewer, Better Things by Glenn Adamson
Call Number: On Order
ISBN: 9781632869647
Publication Date: 2018-08-07
From the former director of the Museum of Arts and Design in New York, a timely and passionate case for the role of the well-designed object in the digital age.
The Handbook of Glaze Recipes by Linda Bloomfield
Call Number: On Order
ISBN: 9781912217489
Publication Date: 2018-05-22
The essential studio companion for any potter with a broad range of glaze recipes and clay bodies. Covering a comprehensive range of glazes including porcelain, crystalline and raku as well as stoneware and earthenware, each recipe is illustrated with a useful test tile to demonstrate the effects of opaque, matte and transparent glazes on different clays and at varying temperatures, and numbered for ease of reference. The book also introduces you to the basics of mixing, applying and adjusting glazes, and correcting typical glaze faults.
In Handbuilt, A Potter's Guide, pottery expert Melissa Weiss shows you the basics of crafting without a wheel, how to harvest and work wild clay, and using natural glazes. Handbuilt pottery is the perfect way for new potters to dive into this unique medium because it doesn't require access to a potter's wheel. Learn the basics of handbuilding and more with this engaging guide.
Working with clay is tremendously satisfying, with enough possibilities and variations to fill a lifetime of imaginative discovery. This book explains all the main methods for both novices and experienced makers wanting to improve their skills.
Radical Clay by Joe Earle (Editor); Hollis Goodall (Contribution by); Janice Katz (Contribution by)
Call Number: On order
ISBN: 9780300273236
Publication Date: 2023-11-28
A diverse selection of contemporary ceramic work by Japanese women. Since World War II, women artists from Japan have made influential contributions to ceramics that have been inadequately acknowledged. This catalogue focuses on thirty-six ceramists who have produced original and technically innovative pieces over the past fifty years while working outside the male-dominated, traditional Japanese studio practice and its counter-movements.
Surface Decorations for Ceramics by Claire Ireland
Call Number: 738.15 Ireland (On order)
ISBN: 9780719841538
Publication Date: 2023-10-10
This practical and beautiful book covers a wide range of inventive, decorative techniques and encourages the maker to be adventurous and experimental. By building a repertoire of decorating skills and methods, it shows how the maker can create distinctive marks and surfaces on clay, thereby making their work individual and unique. With so many ideas and clear, practical instruction to the techniques, this book is an essential reference for makers of all skill levels, and is sure to inspire a new and creative stream of work. From embossing, engraving, printing and embellishing the clay surface using coloured slips, underglaze colours, oxides and glazes.
Napa Valley College Courses - Studio Arts - Ceramics
While the potter's wheel is popularly considered the mainstay of the craft, professional ceramicists have begun to turn more and more toward methods that do not employ that mechanical device. This shift is due to the nearly incredible variety of forms and expressions that are possible when one works "off the wheel." The first part of the book provides information on the nature of clay and the various tools one can use, and explains in detail the different forming methods. Woody's overall intent is to present information in such a way that readers can develop techniques of their own and be inspired to search for expressions in clay that are uniquely theirs.
A comprehensive manual of techniques covering, in detail, all the basic studio processes from selection of clays, design, equipment and the workshop to hand and wheel-work, decoration, glazing and the use of the kiln. A series of projects is included.
Starting with an introduction to materials and tools, this idea-packed book then shows arts and crafters myriad techniques for transforming standard ceramic pieces in to beautifully ornamented, one-of-a-kind treasures for personal or gift use. The book is divided into five sections, each devoted to techniques designed for the category of ceramic to be decorated: damp and unfired ware; leather-hard ware; dry ware; dry bisque-fired ware; and glazed ware. Explained and shown in detail are decoration methods such as incising, carving, casting, sgraffito, engobes, colored pastes, fillettes, reserves, waxes, and many other ways to enhance surfaces of ceramic pieces.
Like blacksmithing or hobby farming, pottery-making appeals to individuals who like to be creative, work with their hands, and donÆt mind getting a little dirty. However, it is a hobby that is largely underserved by the publishing industry, but difficult for someone to learn without a comprehensive guide because the tools and techniques are quite complicated. The PotterÆs Studio Handbook guides readers through the process of setting up their own studio and teaching them how to master the techniques at home. Once techniques are mastered, The PotterÆs Studio Handbook will remain an invaluable resource to the clay artist when looking to create beautiful, yet functional projects, at home with nearly 25 projects that build upon previously learned skills. Teaches the three most popular techniques: wheel throwing, hand building, and slipcasting Teaches readers how to make many functional and beautiful projects at home Step-by-step photos guarantee success
The history of American ceramics from the celebration of the Centennial (1876) to the present day is rich, varied, and relatively undocumented. It is a period studded with men and women of genius, uncompromising ethical standards, and engaging eccentricity. This book presents the history of American ceramics, its aesthetic and its influence. Comprised of over 400 pieces, the majority of which are illustrated in this book, the coverage spans one hundred years of creative endeavor.
Clay by Suzanne Staubach
Call Number: On order
ISBN: 9781611685039
Publication Date: 2013-09-03
More than a third of the houses in the world are made of clay. Clay vessels were instrumental in the invention of cooking, wine and beer making, and international trade. Our toilets are made of clay. The first spark plugs were thrown on the potter's wheel. Clay has played a vital role in the health and beauty fields. Indeed, this humble material was key to many advances in civilization, including the development of agriculture and the invention of baking, architecture, religion, and even the space program. In Clay, Suzanne Staubach takes a lively look at the startling history of the mud beneath our feet. Told with verve and erudition, this story will ensure you won't see the world around you in quite the same way after reading the book.
An introduction entitled Meaning and Memory: The Roots of Postmodern Ceramics, 1960-1980 by Garth Clark - probably the best-known ceramic historian in the world - is followed by an international overview by Mark Del Vecchio of ceramic art since c. 1980, with the work of more than 130 artists, from more than 25 countries, discussed and illustrated. The main text is divided into 12 sections (see contents below), into which artists are grouped, according to the style of their work, their influences, etc. The reference section contains more than 130 biographies and a detailed bibliography.
Ceramic, Art and Civilisation by Paul Greenhalgh
ISBN: 9781474239707
Publication Date: 2021-03-11
In his major new history, Paul Greenhalgh tells the story of ceramics as a story of human civilization, from the Ancient Greeks to the present day. As a core craft technology, pottery has underpinned domesticity, business, religion, recreation, architecture, and art for millennia. Indeed, the history of ceramics parallels the development of human society. This fascinating and very human history traces the story of ceramic art and industry from the Ancient Greeks to the Romans and the medieval world; Islamic ceramic cultures and their influence on the Italian Renaissance; Chinese and European porcelain production; modernity and Art Nouveau; the rise of the studio potter, Art Deco, International Style and Mid-Century Modern, and finally, the contemporary explosion of ceramic making and the postmodern potter.
The subtitle of Brodie's book is "How to save money by building your own fuel efficient kiln and firing it economically." Brodie covers new kiln design, space-age insulating materials, the most efficient burners, and special monitoring systems that take the guesswork out of the perfect firing.
The kiln builder's bible Fredrick L. Olsen's practical guide to the construction, maintenance and repair of kilns is now bigger and more comprehensive than ever. Olsen's bible for kiln builders now includes chapters on multi-directional and specialty kilns, and offers a few suggestions on what kilns may look like in the future. The Kiln Book covers the principles of efficient design, building methods, refractory, materials, bricklaying procedures and instructions, fuels and firing systems, arches, flues, electric elements and general safety. Olsen includes plans for firebox systems; coal, oil-drip and forced-oil burners; butane, propane and natural gas burners; and installation of pressure regulators and safety shutoff controls. Complete plans and instructions are provided for building kilns of any size, shape or any purpose.
Building your own kiln need not be a daunting task. Indeed, it can be the best way to get a simple and cheap kiln that fits your personal requirements. In this book, Ian Gregory discusses the different types of kilns, fuels, and materials to use, and the principles to be kept in mind for successful firing. Working drawings of many types of kilns are included and some new, experimental kilns are illustrated.
Traditionally potters fired their work either at low temperatures, as for earthenware, or at the high temperature that stoneware requires. However, a growing number of potters, particularly those who use electric kilns, are firing to a middle-range temperature, of which cone 6 is typical. Using middle range temperatures saves fuel and expense, reduces wear on electric elements, and yet allows the potter to achieve features shared by earthenware and stoneware. Because of the popularity of this technique, pottery suppliers have recently begun developing clay bodies and glazes suitable for the temperature range. In Glazes Cone 6 Mike Bailey surveys the growing trend in middle-temperature firing and guides the reader by practical knowledge. He discusses a range of different glazes, including special effects, glaze stains, and underglaze colors, giving both recipes and tips for ensuring success.
With hundreds of recipes for some of the most popular and enduring high-fire glazes used today, this reference will prove a boon to ceramicists who want to master this complex aspect of the art. Author John Britt, who recently served as Clay Coordinator at the respected Penland School of Crafts, has personally tested many of the recipes himself, and carefully reviews every one. He offers a thorough examination of glaze materials, chemistry, and tools, and presents the basics of mixing, application, and firing procedures. There’s specific information on each type of glaze, including copper, iron, shino, salt/soda, crystalline, and more. An exhaustive index of subjects and a separate index of glaze recipes will help ceramicists find what they need, quickly and easily.
Raku has been a popular technique amongst potters for a long time, the speed of the firing, the excitement of the fire, and the dramatic results that can be achieved are all part of the allure of raku. The uncertainty of the process itself and the variety of results are also factors that many potters find intriguing. John Mathieson gives a clear and concise overview of the raku process, covering all the essentials of suitable clay types, glazes, post-firing reduction methods and, of course, the all important kiln.
Electric Kiln Ceramics contains and exhaustive review of clays, glazes, and techniques developed exclusively for use in the electric kiln. It begins with an introduction in which both commercial and homemade clays and glazes are discussed. Recipes are provided for slips and glazes, including special glazes (wood ash, majolica, tzu chou and crystal glazes). It also covers the application of oxidation surfaces (intaglio glazing, painting, wax resist, and sgraffito methods).
Tamba--a remote and mountainous area lying to the northeast of Kyoto and Osaka--is the center of an ancient tradition of pottery that is still vigorous today.
Brought to Spain in the thirteenth century by Islamic artisans, the enameled earthenware known as mayólica is decorated with a lead glaze to which tin oxide is added to create an opaque white surface. By the fifteenth century, several areas in Spain were well known throughout Europe for the quality of these ceramics, and with Spain's expansion into the New World the mayólica tradition came into Mexico.
It is often claimed that women were the first potters. While this may or may not be the case, the earliest pottery techniques are still used today in many parts of the world, largely by women. This beautifully illustrated book brings to light the often uncelebrated contributions women potters make to their cultures and describes the practical details of their craft.
Databases for Images and Articles
What is a Database?
What's a database?
A library database is a collection of resources containing either full text documents, abstracts or chapters in books. Some databases cover a broad range of subjects, while others are specific to different subjects. There are also image databases, such as ArtSTOR (now JSTOR) which contain high-quality resolution images.
The databases are accessible to all NVC students and staff 24/7. You can access a wide range of online resources (such as eBooks, eJournals and databases) through McCarthy library's database page. All you need is the Internet access, device and your NVC username and password.
Databases to Search Related to Ceramics Topics and Images
As of August 1, 2024, all ArtSTOR content will be available only through JSTOR. Digital Library includes millions of high-quality images for education and research across disciplines from a wide variety of contributors around the world.
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
CREDO contains all kinds of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles from some of the top university presses in the United States. It also includes over 200,000 images and audio files and over 1200 videos.
This fantastic resource provides primary source materials to tell the story of California's role in national and world events. It contains more than 150,000 photographs, documents, works of art, newspaper clippings, political cartoons and other cultural artifacts. Calisphere is a service of the University of California Libraries, and powered by the California Digital Library
From the website: "The Art Association Napa Valley is a private, nonprofit arts organization dedicated to improving the quality of life for the Napa Valley by supporting arts and culture throughout the county. We provide funding, advocacy, marketing and exhibition opportunities for local artists. A large portion of member dues and a percentage of art sold contributes annually to the AANV Scholarship Fund, which benefits local high school and college students who wish to pursue artistic careers" Several local artists share gallery space on First Street in downtown Napa.
From the website: "The Berkeley Potters Guild, founded in 1971, is northern California’s oldest and largest collective of professional ceramic artists. Our renovated warehouse accommodates nineteen private studios. Most members are production potters who create a wide variety of functional items. Others create one-of-a-kind sculptural pieces. Some work in traditional colors and forms influenced by an Asian aesthetic, while a few of our members make playful forms and decorate with intricate and colorful hand painted designs. The work reflects the broad spectrum of California contemporary ceramics"
"The San Francisco Ceramic Circle brings ceramics enthusiasts together with people broadly interested in visual arts. Our topics range from earthenware to porcelain, from traditional handcrafts to art studios to industrial production, and from antiquity to the present—everything on view at the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco, and beyond." This group emphasizes Europe and North America, but many areas of historic and contemporary ceramics appear in their programs.
A Manual and Source of Inspiration for Ceramic Art and Design by 
500 Animals in Clay by 
500 Prints on Clay by 
The Ceramics Studio Guide by 
Clay by 
The Complete Guide to Mid-Range Glazes by 
Fewer, Better Things by 
The Handbook of Glaze Recipes by 
Handbuilt, a Potter's Guide by 
The Practical Potter by 
Radical Clay by 
Surface Decorations for Ceramics by 
Handbuilding Ceramic Forms by 
Pottery by 
Decorating Techniques (Ceramics Class) by 
Potter's Studio Handbook by 
A Century of Ceramics in the United States 1879-1979 by 
Postmodern Ceramics by 
Ceramic, Art and Civilisation by 
The Energy-Efficient Potter by 
Kiln Book by 
Kiln Building by 
Glazes Cone 6 by 
The Complete Guide to High-Fire Glazes by 
Raku by 
Electric Kiln Ceramics: A Guide to Clays and Glazes by 
Tamba Pottery by 
Ceramica y Cultura by 
Arte e Artisti Nel Mondo Della Ceramica - Art and Artists in the World of Ceramics by 
Women Potters by 
