What is Impact Factor?
"The impact factor, often abbreviated IF, is a measure reflecting the average number of citations to articles published in science and social science journals. It is frequently used as a proxy for the relative importance of a journal within its field, with journals with higher impact factors deemed to be more important than those with lower ones. The impact factor was devised by Eugene Garfield, the founder of the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), now part of Thomson Reuters. Impact factors are calculated yearly for those journals that are indexed in Thomson Reuter's Journal Citation Reports" (Wikipedia, 2009).
Science Watch provides ranking and impact factor for selective journals.
The McCarthy Library provides access to primary research literature. In digital format, these abstracts and full-text articles can be found in the Library's online databases. Some databases include not only a reference citation, but an abstract or summary of the contents of the article. In addition, by limiting your search to full-text, you can retrieve many articles in their entirety.
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
EBSCO's eBook collection provides access to over 200,000 digitized books, including academic titles.