Anthropology: Websites

This site includes digital publications, cultural and social anthropology, physical and biological anthropology, and archaeology. It also includes Kennewick Man resources, as well as a listing of anthropology organizations.

This extensive collection of Internet resources is organized and maintained by the Library of Congress. Included are general sources, associations, scholarly programs, grants and awards, archives and museums as well as online journals. The site also features Internet resources in mythology and indigenous people studies.

From the website: "The National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives collect and preserve historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of anthropology. Their collections represent the four fields of anthropology -- ethnology, linguistics, archaeology and physical anthropology -- and include fieldnotes, journals, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, as well as film and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists and other preeminent scholars."

Last updated in 2008, this site contains links to pages that have either been set up by the nations themselves, or are pages devoted to a particular nation. Included are both recognized and unrecognized tribes.

Founded in 1866, the Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology is one of the oldest museums in the world devoted to anthropology and houses one of the most comprehensive records of human cultural history in the Western Hemisphere.

The Education and Exhibits link contains useful information for both students and teachers. Resources include the oral history interviewing guide. Online exhibitions bring the Smithsonian's cultural research to a world-wide audience.