LibGuides: Psychology: Articles

About Articles

There are many different types of articles including trade publication, newspaper, magazine, and scholarly (a.k.a. academic or peer-reviewed), which is the type you will most commonly use need for research assignments. Before the internet, all journals were printed; however, today most journals, including all of those in the NVC Library, are found online in databases. The library subscribes to dozens of article databases, both general and subject-based, which you can access for free by logging in with your student credentials.

Recommended Databases

Psychology-Specific

APA PsycARTICLES
Full text peer-reviewed articles published by APA and affiliated journals... is a collection from the foremost publisher in psychology provides access to the full spectrum of research in the field...current journal coverage and historical content dating back more than a century.

Frontiers Journals
Frontiers publishes peer-reviewed open access journals, including Frontiers in...Organizational Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Psychology, Social Psychology, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, and other related fields.

MEDLINE
Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database that contains citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.

Provides Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).

The Open Psychology Journal
An open-access journal that publishes research articles, reviews/mini-reviews, case reports, perspectives, letters and guest-edited single-topic issues in all areas of psychology.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
This database is Ebsco's subject-specific database for sociology, psychology and other social and behavioral sciences.
PubMed
A free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.

The PubMed database contains more than 38 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources.

Multi-disciplinary Databases

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access peer-reviewed journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
EBSCO Search
Simultaneous search all of the EBSCO-brand databases to which the library subscribes.
JSTOR
A broad database that provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

All Artstor content is now available through JSTOR.

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources Video

The following video from Lincoln Memorial University Libraries describes the difference between scholarly and popular sources.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article Tool

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article Tool
From North Carolina State University Libraries

This video from the Quinebaug Valley Community College Library goes over the "Anatomy of a Scholarly Article" tool from North Carolina State University Libraries.