LibGuides: Geology: Reference Books

Glossaries

Glossary of Geology by Neuendorf, Klaus et al.
Call Number: REF 550.3 Glossary
ISBN: 978092215289
Publication Date: 2011

Ancient Landscapes of Western North America: A Geologic History with Paleogeographic Maps by Ronald C. Blakey; Wayne Ranney
Call Number: REF 551.8 Blakey
ISBN: 9783319596341
Publication Date: 2017-10-18

Oceans by Dorrik Stow
Call Number: REF 551.46 Stow
ISBN: 0226776646
Publication Date: 2006-04-21
Volcanoes of North America by Charles A. Wood (Editor); Jürgen Kienle (Editor)
Call Number: REF 551.21 Volcanoes
ISBN: 0521364698
Publication Date: 1990-07-27

Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes by David Ritchie; Alexander E. Gates
Call Number: REF 551.203 Ritchie
ISBN: 0816043728
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
Encyclopedia of World Climatology by John E. Oliver (Editor); John E. Oliver (Editor)
Call Number: R 551.603
ISBN: 9781402032660
Publication Date: 2006-11-08
Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate by Michael Allaby
Call Number: REF 551.603 Allaby v. 1-2
ISBN: 0816048029
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Encyclopedia of Earth Science by E. Julius Dasch
Call Number: REF 550.3 Macmillian v1-2
ISBN: 0028971124
Publication Date: 1996-05-01
Encyclopedia of Minerals by Willard L. Roberts; George R. Rapp; Julius Weber
Call Number: REF 549 Roberts
ISBN: 0442268203
Publication Date: 1974-09-01

Geologic Timeline
Brought to you by the Geological Society of America (GSA). Available as free downloadable .pdf or as a purchasable poster.
Phanerozoic Geologic Time
From the British Geological Survey, a simplified version, good for memorization.

A Dictionary of Earth Sciences by Michael Allaby (Editor)
Call Number: REF 550.3 Dictionary
ISBN: 9780199211944
Publication Date: 2008-04-07
Dictionary of Geological Terms by American Geological Institute Staff
Call Number: REF 550.321 DIC
ISBN: 0385181019
Publication Date: 1984-04-11
Challinor's Dictionary of Geology by Challinor, John
Call Number: REF 550.321
ISBN: 0195205065
Publication Date: 1986-03-27

Bibliography of Geology and Mineral Resources of California to December 31, 1930 by Shedd, Solon
Call Number: R 549.9 Shedd
Publication Date: March, 1932
A great source of historical literature on California geology.