Hispanic Heritage Month 2019: Webpages

Explore the history of Hispanic culture in America through EDSITEment, funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH). This website offers a treasure trove of high-quality material in the subject areas of literature and language arts, foreign languages, art and culture, and history and social studies.

Funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH), Bridging Historias addresses the increasingly influential body of scholarship on the importance of Latino/a culture in American history, that remains under-represented in most college history textbooks and teaching collections. This website contains the research and teaching materials used by 42 community college faculty and administrators in the greater New York City region (Connecticut, New Jersey, New York, and eastern Pennsylvania), including scholarly talks and teaching presentations by visiting lecturers. The website is designed to provide scholarly resources for incorporating Latino history and culture into the humanities and social science classroom, and for the public.

"The Handbook of Latin American Studies is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the HispanicDivisionof the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternatesannually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, morethan 130 academics from around the world choose between 2,000-3,000 works for inclusionin the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources."

The Humanities Texas exhibitions program circulates traveling exhibitions on a variety of topics including Mexico: Splendors of Thirty Centuries, In His Own Words: The Life and Work of Cesar Chavex, Voces Americanas: Latino Literature in the United States, etc. Use the "Exhibitions pull-down menu to make selections.

LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. Our target audience includes people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region. LANIC provides subject pages, regional pages, country pages, and much more. A project of the University of Texas.

LATINO AMERICANS is a landmark six-hour documentary featuring interviews with nearly 100 Latinos and more than 500 years of History. It is a production of WETA Washington, DC; Bosch and Co., Inc.; and Latino Public Broadcasting (LPB); in association with Independent Television Service (ITVS). The LATINO AMERICANS website offers complete episode descriptions, videos of the full series as well as clips that highlight areas of interest, and access to supporting lesson plans and activities. Films are available in English and Spanish.

Latino Americans: 500 Years of History, produced by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and ALA, was a nationwide public programming initiative that supported the exploration of the rich and varied history and experiences of Latinos. More than 200 grantees around the country — libraries, museums, state humanities councils and other nonprofits selected through a competitive application process — received funding, resources and support to host festivals, collect oral histories, facilitate discussions and hold other public events. Be inspired by their accomplishments in the project's final report.

The National Park Service American Latino Heritage projects explore how the legacy of American Latinos can be recognized, preserved, and interpreted for future generations. This website highlights projects undertaken by National Park Service parks and programs as part of the Service's commitment to telling the American Latino story. Projects vary from increased interpretation, collaboration with community organizations, and the production of scholarly documentation.

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. More than 100 sources for Peru.