LibGuides: ENGL 90: Jordan (Spring 2022): Find Resources

Resources Needed

You need one resource for each milieu category. In addition, you must use all of these types: books/e-books, encyclopedic reference, photos, audio/video document, scholarly article. This comes to five resources, plus your personal interview.

Milieu Categories:

History
Geography/Physical Environment
Culture (the arts, clothing, food, religion, etc.)
Socioeconomics (issues of race, class, gender, etc.)
Photograph (Please find a photograph that provides insight into your ancestor’s milieu.)

Types of Resources needed:

Books/eBooks
Encyclopedic Reference
Photos
Audio/Video
Scholarly Article
Personal Interview

Resource Locations

Library Catalog Search This link opens in a new window
Catalog of physical items in the Napa Valley College library and the Napa County Public Library System as well as many digital items including eBooks, streaming media, and more.

Databases

All Library Databases

General Databases (eBooks, articles, reference, and more):

HINT: Search multiple (or all) EBSCO brand databases simultaneously (including Academic Search Complete and Ethnic Diversity Source) by opening any EBSCO database and selecting "choose databases."

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
EBSCO Search This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous search all of the EBSCO-brand databases to which the library subscribes.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
Ethnic Diversity Source covers culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of:
African Americans
Arab Americans
Asian Americans
European Americans
Jewish Americans
Latinx Americans
Native Americans
Multiracial Americans
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. *ArtSTOR has merged with JSTOR. All content available in ArtSTOR is now accessible through JSTOR.

Reference Databases:

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
CREDO contains all kinds of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles from some of the top university presses in the United States. It also includes over 200,000 images and audio files and over 1200 videos.

Art/Photography Databases:

Artstor This link opens in a new window
As of August 1, 2024, all ArtSTOR content will be available only through JSTOR. Digital Library includes millions of high-quality images for education and research across disciplines from a wide variety of contributors around the world.
Calisphere This link opens in a new window
This fantastic resource provides primary source materials to tell the story of California's role in national and world events. It contains more than 150,000 photographs, documents, works of art, newspaper clippings, political cartoons and other cultural artifacts. Calisphere is a service of the University of California Libraries, and powered by the California Digital Library

Video Streaming Databases:

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 40,000 streaming titles covering a broad range of topics.