This finding aid was create to introduce community members to the resources in our special collections that pertain to argiculture (generally of the Napa area), cook books, gastronomical works, "guidebooks" related to food, houskeeping, and restaurants, and works about viticulture and the wine industry. Some of the items come from the COPIA, Upper Valley Campus, and Viticulture collections, and others are from the general collection, but due to their rare, valuable, and/or delicate nature, they are housed in the special collections room. Please see the guide, "Guidelines for Using the Special Collections and Archives," for information on how to handle texts from this collection and how to make an appointment to see them.
The "Food, Restaurants, and Housekeeping" tab of this finding aid includes four sections: "COPIA Collection Cookbooks," "UVC Culinary Texts," "Cook Books and Cooking Pamphlets (General Collection)," and "Food and Housekeeping 'Guidebooks.'" The first section, "COPIA Collection Cookbooks," contains a list of cook books from the COPIA collection that have signed dedications from the authors and may also include further dedications from friends and family. The "UVC Culinary Texts" section includes books from the Upper Vallley Campus Collection which cover various aspects of gastronomy. The "Cook Books and Cooking Pamphlets (General Collection)" section includes both books and pamphlets with recipes, and many of these are rare, valuable, and/or in delicate condition. The final section, "Food and Housekeeping 'Guidebooks,'" covers topics ranging from best canning practices to how to use specific appliances in the home to housekeeping tips for those working for large production estates to restaurant guides.
The "Wine" tab of this finding aid includes two sections, "Viticulture, Production, Distribution" and "Wine: The Drink." The first section, "Viticulture, Production, Distribution," includes books from the Viticulture collection and the general collection. The texts listed concern grape growing, disease prevention and treatment, wine making, and how to market and distribute the finished product. The second section, "Wine: The Drink," includes books from the COPIA collection and general collection containing information on what to look for in a good wine, where to find good wine, and how to pair wine with foods.
The "Agriculture" tab of this finding aid includes two sections, "Issues, Opportunities, and Challenges" and "Products." Both of these sections include texts pulled from the general collection due to their rare, valuable, and/or delicate nature. The first section, "Issues, Opportunities, and Challenges," includes books about soil, best farming/cultivation practices, and challenges of beer production and beer-related diseases. The second section includes information on plants and animal products produced in the Napa area.
viticulture, gastronomy, cook books, napa agriculture, napa wine, wine, napa vineyards, food and beverages, restaurants, housekeeping
MLA-9 Citation
Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Title of the Publication. City of Publication (only used for obscure presses or if have offices in more than one location), Publisher, Date of Publication. Special Collections (if the text is part of a specialized collection, you would use a format like Special Collections: COPIA Collection), McCarthy Library, Napa Valley College, Napa, California.
(Note that this system does no allow us to do a hanging indent, but you will need to indent the second line of your citation and every line after that in order to create a "hanging indent.")
Example:
Child, Julia, and E. S. Yntema. Julia Child & More Company. Ballantine Books, 1984. Special Collections: COPIA Collection, McCarthy Library, Napa Valley College, Napa, California.
(Note that you will need to include the hanging indent when you cite your source.)
APA-7 Citation
Author's Last Name, Author's First Name (publication date). Title of the Publication. Publisher. Special Collections: New Archives, McCarthy Library, Napa Valley College, Napa, CA, USA.
(Note that you will need to include the hanging indent when you cite your source.)
Example:
Child, Julia, and E. S. Yntema (1984). Julia Child & more company. Ballantine Books. Special Collections: COPIA Collection, McCarthy Library, Napa Valley College, Napa, California, USA.
(Note that you will need to include the hanging indent when you cite your source.)
You will find the inventory of the collection via the tabs at the top of the page.
--Compiled by Amy Catania, PhD