The Earth System: Meteorology

• Global Climate Change

  The National Aeronautics & Space Administration has collected evidence, causes, effects, solutions and resources relating to climate change.

• Climate Change

  The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's guide to all aspects of our changing climate.

• Climate Data Online

  The National Climatic Data Center's archive of global historical weather and climate data.

• ACS Climate Science Toolkit

  This resource from the American Chemical Society provides the fundamental science to help you understand and communicate climate science.

• Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal

  An integrated, curated bibliographic database of global peer-reviewed research and gray literature on the science of climate impacts on human health.

• IRI/LDEO Climate Data Library
  Over 300 datasets from a variety of earth science disciplines and climate-related topics.
   
• DeSmogBlog

  DeSmogBlog exists to clear the public relations pollution that is clouding the science on climate change.

• International Commission on History of Meteorology

  The most useful link on this site is to History of Meteorology, the Commissions peer-reviewed journal. Full text of all articles is available. Other links are of limited utility.

• Ocean and Atmospheric Science Guide

  This guide from the United States Naval Academy's Nimitz Library provides a select list of resources supporting research in oceanography, meteorology and related fields.

• iCyclone

  Founded by Josh Morgerman , he and his associates chase landfalling hurricanes in the USA, Mexico, and across the world, capturing and sharing the experiences via on-the-spot blogging, social media, and action-packed video footage.

• International Cloud Atlas
  This Atlas from World Meteorological Organization describes the classification system for clouds and meteorological phenomena.

Featured Link

National Severe Storms Laboratory-Based in Norman, Oklahoma, this internationally known environmental research laboratory specializes in the study of all aspects for severe weather (tornadoes, thunderstorms, lightning, hail, floods, and damaging winds). "NSSL Briefings" is available full-text through this page.

• An El Nino Page: Accessing Distributed Information Related To El Nino - A comprehensive site on this global weather event, maintained by the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration.
• Extreme weather sourcebook - The joint product of professional and Federal meteorological organizations, this site provides "economic and other societal impacts related to hurricanes, floods, tornadoes, lighting, and other U.S. weather phenomena." Individual state data is included.
• NASA Atlas of Extratropical Storm Tracks
• NASA's Global Tropospheric Experiment
• National Science Foundation: Predicting Seasonal Weather
• NOAA Center for Tsunami Research - Housed at the Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory in Seattle, this project seeks to investigate tsunami hazards to the Pacific coast of the United States and Hawaii through an integrated approach to early warning. Realtime data feeds are available from selected buoys. Sections of the site cover data on individual tsunami events, modeling and forecasting, foundation mapping efforts, and the National Tsunami Hazard Mitigation Program.
• NOAA Climate Diagnostics Center Map Room
• Noctilucent Clouds Observing Network
• Spaceweather.com
• The Aurora Page
• The Tornado Project Online - A corporate page with detailed listings of storm-related data such as the Fujita scale, and all tornadoes within a given calendar year beginning in 1950, arranged by state.
• U.S. Drought Portal
• U.S. South Pole Station
• Western Regional Climate Center

• American Meteorological Society - A valuable feature of this professional society's page is "AMS Journals Online," which gives free text search access to either the society periodicals or specific titles.
• Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory: Hurricane Research Division
• Australian Space Weather Agency
• CEDA Archives - Based in Oxfordshire, the Center "assists UK atmospheric researchers to locate, assess, and interpret data. Center produced datasets are accessible through an Internet link, as are external datasets housed there. Meteorological, atmospheric chemistry and stratospheric data are provided.
• Cooperative Institute for Meteorological Satellite Studies - A joint venture of the University of Wisconsin and NASA, with research programs on operational weather satellites, instrument development, applications ranging from biomass burning monitoring to numerical weather prediction. Featured projects include ARTIC Fire (an Arctic Cloud experiment) and the Winter Storm Reconnaissance Program.
• GISS: Goddard Institute for Space Studies at Columbia University in New York
• International Weather Satellite Imagery Center - A listing of weather imagery and films taken by satellites worldwide, arranged by region and heavily weighted towards North America.
• Lightning and Atmospheric Electricity Research at the Global Hydrology and Climate Center (GHCC)
• Met Office (U.K. weather center) The British equivalent of the U.S. National Weather Service.
• Midwestern Regional Climate Center - A cooperative program of the National Climatic Data Center and the Illinois State Water Survey, one of six such centers in the United States. Both historical analysis and current data are provided, as are climate summaries for each Midwestern state.
• NASA Satellite Images - A listing of specific image files arranged alphabetically by place or region name.
• National Centers for Environmental Information - Based in Asheville, NC, this is the world's largest active archive of weather data covering 150 years and virtually all NOAA information. Sections on satellite resources, radar resources, climatic extremes and weather events. Search capability by maps and individual events is provided.
• National Hurricane Center - The major U.S. facility monitoring tropical cyclones over the Atlantic, Caribbean, Gulf of Mexico, and Eastern Pacific from May 15 through November 30. Historical charts from 1492 to date are accessible, along with seasonal summaries by region and details of aircraft reconnaissance.
• National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) - Useful links from this page include the National Environmental Satellite Data and Information Service. A basic starting point for research involving the environment, climate, coastal issues, etc.
• National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC)
• National Severe Storms Laboratory - Based in Norman, Oklahoma, this internationally known environmental research laboratory specializes in the study of all aspects for severe weather (tornadoes, thunderstorms, lightning, hail, floods, and damaging winds). "NSSL Briefings" is available full-text through this page.
• National Snow and Ice Data Center
• National Weather Association - This professional organization site lists both Association publications and a set of "Meteorology and Science Links."
• NBC News Intellicast - Useful for update on both world weather (by region and city) and the United States, complete with detailed image files updated regularly.
• NCEP/NCAR Reanalysis - Weather data at six-hour intervals over a 50-year period, from 1948 to 1998.
• NOAA Physical Sciences Laboratory
• NOAA Physical Sciences Laboratory Map Room
• NOAA National Weather Service Climate Prediction Center - Includes news, outlooks ranging from 6 days to 3 months, a drought assessment, and more.
• National Centers for Environmental Information : Paleoclimatology
• NOAA Space Weather Prediction Center
• Scripps Institution of Oceanography
• SEDAC: Stratospheric Ozone and Human Health Project - The purpose of this site is to provide data and resources in the areas of ultraviolet (UV) radiation, ozone, and human health. A bibliographic database of expert literature is included. Covering the period of 1979 to present.
• Space Weather Canada
• Storm Prediction Center
• The Weather Channel
• University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
• World Meteorological Organization,(WMO) - The specialized agency of the United Nations coordinating global scientific activity relating to all aspects of weather. The full text of recent press releases, official statements, and media features is provided.