LibGuides: Chemistry: Websites

Additional Library Resources

Writing a Scientific Research Paper
Created by NVC Librarians, learn how writing a scientific research paper differs from research in the humanities.
Chemistry Handouts & Practice Tests
Everett Community College's tutoring center has created some helpful handouts and practice tests for the study of chemistry.

Websites

Biology Project
An online interactive resource brought to you by the Department of Biochemistry at the University of Arizona.
BioMed Central
BioMed Central provides free access to over 200 peer-reviewed journals.
BRENDA
Developed and maintained at the Institute of Biochemistry at the University of Cologne, BRENDA is a database of enzyme functional data for approximately 3,500 enzymes.
Chemistry Central
A part of BioMed Central, this site provides open access to peer-reviewed resources on chemistry topics
Chemistry Web Resources
This site is maintained by Ron Rinehart of Monterey Peninsula College and contains a wealth of material oriented toward chemical education, all well-organized in a visually attractive way.
Delights of Chemistry
Guide by the University of Leeds' Chemistry Department which includes instructions for over forty experiments, a large image library, and animations of common chemical reactions.
EurekAlert
EurekAlert! is an online, global news service operated by AAAS, the science society. EurekAlert! provides a central place through which universities, medical centers, journals, government agencies, corporations and other organizations engaged in research can bring their news to the media and to the public. EurekAlert! features news and resources focused on all areas of science, medicine and technology.
General Chemistry Online
This website by a Professor at Frostberg State University, includes a searchable database of common compounds, notes and guides for a first semester general chemistry class, tutorials, as well as a chemistry exam survival guide.
MIT OpenCourseWare - Chemistry
"The Department of Chemistry at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) is one of the nation's top chemistry department. It has an illustrious history in sharing the MIT tradition of excellence, and it has provided national leadership in chemical education and research throughout the century." Find access to free MIT Chemistry courses for both undergraduates and graduates.
Periodic Table of the Elements
more...less...
A beautiful site designed by Los Alamos National Laboratory's Chemistry Division.
PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
PubChem Project
A free database of chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. Includes substance information, compound structures and bioactivity data.
Sigma Aldrich
A company website which provides a great deal of information including physical properties for tens of thousands of chemicals commonly found in research laboratories.
WebSpectra
This site was established to provide chemistry students with a library of spectroscopy problems. The project is supported by Cambridge Isotope Laboratories and the UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.
Women in Chemistry
"Her Lab in Your Life" launched in 2004 and appeared at venues around the country. This online exhibit celebrates the important contributions women have made to the field of chemistry. While suitable for a broad audience, it is of particular interest to young women who are thinking about pursuing careers in chemistry and related sciences. Featured scientists range from well-known historical figures to living chemists who are tackling today's problems."

Women in Chemistry / Mujeres en Química

Portrait of Anna J. Harrison. Courtesy Mount Holyoke College Archives and Special Collections.

Retrato de Anna J. Harrison. Cortesía de Mount Holyoke College archivos y colecciones especiales.

"In 1978, more than 100 years after its founding, the American Chemical Society (ACS), one of the world’s largest scientific organizations, elected a woman as its leader for the very first time. Nationally known for her devotion to teaching, Anna Jane Harrison (1912–1998) had served as a chemistry professor at Mount Holyoke College in Massachusetts since 1945." (From the Chemical Heritage Foundation's Women In Chemistry Collection).

"En 1978, más de 100 años después de su fundación, La Sociedad Americana de Química en sus siglas en Ingles (ACS), es uno de los más grandes organizaciones científicas del mundo, que eligió a una mujer como su líder por primera vez. Conocida nacionalmente por su devoción a la enseñanza, Anna Jane Harrison (1912-1998) ha servido como un profesor de química en Mount Holyoke College, en Massachusetts desde 1945." (De la Chemical Heritage Foundation's mujeres en Química Colección).