LibGuides: Philosophy: Websites

Websites Relating to Philosophy

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Each entry of this online encyclopedia is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or a group of experts in the field. As a scholarly dynamic reference work, the SEP contains updated articles that are submitted by members of the profession.
Khan Academy's The Logical Fallacies
The Logical Fallacies is part of the Khan Academy's Wi-Phi Program whose mission is to introduce people to the practice of philosophy by offering lectures on philosophical issues and critical thinking concepts.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A peer-reviewed academic resource, this site provides access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The staff includes 25 editors and 200 authors, all of which hold doctorate degrees and are professors at colleges and universities.
Erratic Impacts Philosophy Research Base
From the website: "Erratic Impact's Philosophy Research Base is categorized by history, subject and author. Integrating text resources with the best online resources, this study guide attempts to aid both academic and general interest in all philosophical genres and their related fields." While the site was last updated in 2008, information is still useful.
Paideia Project
Site for the 20th World Congress of Philosophy, offering over 600 full-text papers from the Paideia archive and links to significant philosophy resources.
The Perseus Digital Library
From the website: "Tufts University is the foremost Digital Library for the classical world, if not for the Humanities in general. In its collection of Greek and Roman materials, readers will find many of the canonical texts read today. The Greek collection approaches 8 million words and the Latin collection currently has 5.5 million. In addition, many English language dictionaries, other reference works, translations, and commentaries are included, so that anyone with an internet connection has access to the equivalent of a respectable College Classics library.".
PhilPapers
From the website: "PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy. PhilPapers has over 100,000 registered users."
Closer to Truth
Closer to Truth provides conversations with the greatest thinkers who explore the deepest questions. The contributors section of the website includes biographies on top names in cosmology, neuroscience, philosophy, philosophy of mind, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, physics, and many more disciplines along with links to the Closer to Truth television interviews on topics relating to the Cosmos, Consciousness and Meaning.
Internet Classics Archive
This site contains 441 works of classical literature. Although last updated in 2009, this site is nonetheless useful to students of ancient philosophy.

Primary Sources

Glyn Hughes' Squashed Philosophers Chronology
A link to abridged versions of classical philosophy texts on a timeline in date order
Glyn Hughes' Squashed Philosophers
A link to full-text works of classical Western Philosophy
Philosophy Canonical Texts
This collection contains canonical philosophic texts and links to scholarly philosophic organizations.
Online Books Page: Philosophy
From the University of Pennsylvania.

Beware of Logical Fallacies

Watch out for logical fallacies in developing your argument:

ad hominem argument = attacking an opponent rather than their argument
bandwagoning = using popular opinion as evidence
begging the question = using circular reasoning
either-or fallacy = the argument is structured as having either one answer or another
hasty generalization = taking one instance as a general pattern
non sequitur = aka: it does not follow; your conclusions are not connected to the reasoning
red herring fallacy = using irrelevant info in the argument
slippery slope = arriving at a truth by supposing a series of possible events

A full-sized poster of different logical fallacies can be accessed here.