Viticulture & Winery Technology: Associations and Organizations

Homepage of the American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV), a non-profit scientific society that was formed in 1950 and is dedicated to the interests of enologists, viticulturists, and others in the fields of wine and grape research and production thoughout the world. Information is provided on the Society, its organization, membership procedures, publications, aims and activities. ASEV publishes the American Journal of Enology and Viticulture and abstracts from 2001 onwards can be viewed. In addition, a selection of 'best articles' from the journal are freely available in full-text.

The American Vineyard Foundation (AVF) is a non-profit California corporation organized in 1978 by the American Scoeity of Enology and Viticulture to raise funds for research in viticulture and enology. The site provides a history of the foundation and summaries of reports on viticulture and enology projects carried out from 1996 to present, with full reports available to be ordered via the website. It also provides survey results, a list of research contacts, and details of the benefits gained from individual research projects.

Homepage of the Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology (ASVO), a scientific society that was formed in 1980 to serve the interests of practicing winemakers and viticulturists by encouraging the exchange of technical information. Information is provided on the Society and its activities, membership, proceedings and publications, and research scholarships and awards funded by the Society.

The CWA consists of Carneros winegrowers partnering with winemakers to select the best vines for the most appropriate soil and climate. The site includes basic-winemaking step-by-step, a hyperlinked list of winery members, maps and appellation as well as links to the Carneros Land Stewardship Foundation.

This website is produced by the Iowa State University's Department of Horticulture. It provides a wide range of information about viticulture. The site contains links to resources on the Web organized by topic, as well as links to various trade organizations. There are also lists of relevant publications and research projects being carried out at ISU. Some documents are available online as PDFs.

From the website: "The Napa Valley Grapegrowers has played a vital role in strengthening Napa Valley's reputation as a world-class wine-growing region for over 34 years. Their mission is to preserve Napa Valley's grapegrowing heritage, strengthen the wine industry's economic viability, promote environmentally and socially sustainable agriculture, and communicate the quality and character of Napa Valley vineyards. NVG represents over 600 Napa County grapegrowers and associated businesses." A calendar of events provides the latest information on viticulture education, current research topics and community activities."

In their eighth decade, the Napa Valley Vintners (NVV) is a non-profit trade association responsible for promoting and protecting the Napa Valley Appellation as a a winegrowing region. NVV is committed to the preservation and enhancement of the Valley's land, wine, and community for future generations. The Napa Valley Vintners Association addresses the shared interests of nearly 500 member wineries. The site provides a comprehensive list of wineries by category, by city, and by name, including maps. Tastings and market visits, local community programs, Napa Valley events and professional development opportunities are featured as well as a Napa Valley vintners blog.

From the website: "Founded in 1994 by growers and vintners in tribute to the legacy of the grape growing and winemaking forebearers. The Society's mission is to encourage and promote the highest quality standards in grape growing and winemaking in the Rutherford Viticultural Area."

The Sonoma County Winegrape Commission (SCWC) represents farmers who grow grapes for wine in Sonoma County. The site provides information on wines and grapes, growing regions, and markets. Various video illustrations are provided including a live webcam from Ladd Vineyard, the monthly wine grape chronicles, and the "life of a winegrape", which shows how vineyards change from one season to another. Additionally, the home page of the site highlights latest news items and SCWC resources.

The Wine Grape Network website, hosted by Pennsylvania State University, provides a wide range of information aimed at assisting vineyard operators in the production of high quality wine grapes. The site is organized by topic in a way that is designed to aid the site's users in finding answers to any questions they may have. The topics range from 'Growing Grapes' to 'Making Wine' and 'Marketing Products'. Industry news, information about the site and events listings are organized in the same way.