Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Napa Valley College Banner

Welcome to Napa Valley College Library

Special Collections - News Archives Guide: Home

The News Archives

Summary

Napa Valley College (NVC) has several special collections, including a news archive.  This archive includes past issues of student newspapers and newsletters, faculty and staff newsletters and newspapers, college presidents' newsletters, copies of local and national newspapers recording historic events, clippings from the Napa Valley Register concerning local stories of interest, and more!  You can make an appointment for checking out these special collection materials by either contacting the circulation desk or by e-mailing a  librarian directly, and we'll be happy to set up a time for you and/or your students to come and see what we have to offer!

Scope and Content

The student newspapers and newsletters tab includes information on the following publications: The Chieftan (1953, 1955-1957, 1960, 1963-1964, 1968-1969), Napa Valley College Voice (also called "The Voice) (1976, 1978, 1981-1983),  The Campus Press (1980-1982), The Matrix (1984), The Xpress (1985, 1988-1989), Napa Valley College Times (1991-1999), "The Grape-Vine" (1989-1990), and "Quad Talk" (1990-1991).  We do not have all of the copies for all these publications, and thus the founding date and the final date are uncertain for most publications, with the exception of the Napa Valley College Times, which did, in fact, cease publication in 1999 when the journalism program discontinued.  This section also includes single copy publications and pieces published by NVC students in the Napa Register (i.e. Napa Valley Register). 

The second tab includes information on faculty, staff, and administrator-created newsletters and newspapers, including the following publications:  "Napa Valley College News" (1987-1991, 2001), "Contact" (1983-1986), "Building Community" (1990-1995), and "Spotlighting Leadership" (1987-1991).  We do not have all copies of these publications, so the founding date and the final date are uncertain.  There are also some single copy publications, and it is unclear if these were the only issues of these publications or if there were more.

The third tab includes a listing of newspaper copies that we have which cover historic events.  These events include:  President John F. Kennedy's funeral, Lee Harvey Oswald being killed in jail, President Lyndon B. Johnson's swearing in ceremony, President Johnson's tribute to JFK, "The Official Summary of the Report of the President's Commission on the Assassination of President Kennedy," President Johnson's reelection, how the Apollo 13 astronauts survived, the "hundred year" storms that caused flooding in California in 1986, the 1989 earthquake in California, and a summary of the grand jury reports for 2008-2009 and 2009-2010 respectively for Napa County.  The newspapers that covered such events include The San Francisco Chronicle, The New York Times (Western Edition), The Christian Science Monitor, and the Napa Valley Register.

The fourth tab contains information on newspaper clippings and magazines that cover local, Napa and Napa Valley history.  They include biographies of famous locals, the phylloxera outbreak that affected the wine crops, historic buildings, and the opera house catalog from 2008.  The clippings are from two main publications, the Napa Valley Register and the local magazine, Marketplace.

Subject Terms

  • student newspapers
  • student newsletters
  • faculty newsletters
  • staff newsletters
  • presidential newsletters
  • faculty newspapers
  • staff newspapers
  • historic events
  • Napa
  • Napa County
  • phylloxera

Citations

MLA-9 Citation

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. "Title of the Article." Title of the Publication, Date of Publication, page number (if there is one). Special Collections: New Archives, McCarthy Library, Napa Valley College, Napa, California. Accessed Date.

(Note that this system does no allow us to do a hanging indent, but you will need to indent the second line of your citation and every line after that in order to create a "hanging indent.")

Example:

Paschal, Ron. "Martin Myatt Inspires Students." Napa Valley College Times, 15 Apr. 1991. Special Collections: New Archives, McCarthy Library, Napa Valley College, Napa, California. Accessed 13 Jul. 2022.

(Note that you will need to include the hanging indent when you cite your source.)

APA-7 Citation

Author's Last Name, Author's First Name (publication date). Title of the article. Title of the Publication, page number (if there is one). Special Collections: New Archives, McCarthy Library, Napa Valley College, Napa, CA, USA.

(Note that you will need to include the hanging indent when you cite your source.)

Example:

Paschal, Ron (1991, April 15). Martin Myatt inspires students. Napa Valley College Times. Special Collections: New Archives, McCarthy Library, Napa Valley College, Napa, CA, USA.

(Note that you will need to include the hanging indent when you cite your source.)

Collection Inventory

You will find the inventory of the collection via the tabs at the top of the page.