LibGuides: Communication Studies: Reference Books

Dictionaries

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas by Maryanne Cline Horowitz
Call Number: REF 903 New v1-6
ISBN: 0684313774
Publication Date: 2004-12-03
See especially the new Communication of Ideas section. The Reader's Guide on page vii of Volume 6 outlines several entries focusing on the media humans have used to communicate with one another.

Ethnic Groups Worldwide by David H. Levinson
Call Number: REF 305.8 Levinson
ISBN: 1573560197
Publication Date: 1998-04-21

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Jeffrey Lehman (Editor); Robert Dassanowsky (Editor)
Call Number: R 305.8 Gale v.1-4
ISBN: 0787639869
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women by Cheris Kramarae (Editor); Dale Spender (Editor)
Call Number: REF 305.403 Routledge v1-4
ISBN: 0415920884
Publication Date: 2000-12-27
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by Timothy L. Gall (Editor)
Call Number: REF 305.8003 Worldmark v.1-4
ISBN: 0787605522
Publication Date: 1997-12-01

American Immigrant Cultures by David Levinson and Melvin Ember (editors)
Call Number: Ref 305.8 American v1-2
ISBN: 0028972082
Publication Date: 1997-09-26
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender by Judith Worell (Editor)
Call Number: REF 305.403 Encyclopedia v1-2
ISBN: 0122272455
Publication Date: 2001-09-13
International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities by Michael Flood (Editor); Judith Kegan Gardiner (Editor); Bob Pease (Editor); Keith Pringle (Editor)
Call Number: REF 305.3103
ISBN: 9780415333436
Publication Date: 2007-07-18
Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States by Pyong Gap Min
Call Number: REF 305.800973 Encyclopedia v1-3
ISBN: 0313326886
Publication Date: 2005-08-01

Bartlett's Familiar Quotations by John Bartlett; Justin Kaplan
Call Number: REF 808.882 Bartlett
ISBN: 0316082775
Publication Date: 1992-11-04
The Quotable Woman by Elaine T. Partnow
Call Number: REF 08.882 Quotable
ISBN: 0816045755
Publication Date: 2001-02-01
Oxford Dictionary of Phrase, Saying, and Quotation by Susan Ratcliffe (Editor)
Call Number: R 808.882 Oxford
ISBN: 0192806505
Publication Date: 2006-10-12

Statistical Handbook on Women in America by Cynthia M. Taeuber
Call Number: REF 305.409 Statistical
ISBN: 1573560057
Publication Date: 1996-04-15
A Statistical Portrait of the United States by Patricia C. Becker; Bernan Press Staff
Call Number: REF 306.0973021 Statistical
ISBN: 0890595844
Publication Date: 2002-08-01

See also Statistical Information Websites