Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find U.S. and International news and events.
British Broadcasting Company (BBC)
The British Broadcasting Corporation is the public-service broadcaster of the United Kingdom, headquartered at Broadcasting House in London. The BBC provides news from around the world.
Center for Non-Verbal Studies
Contains information on nonverbal communication. Also offers a dictionary of nonverbal communication terminology.
International Debate Education Association (IDEA) site that provides ideas for debate (or persuasive speech) topics, along with moderated debate forums.
National Public Radio
Includes news, arts & life, music, topics, programs and podcasts.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
ProCon.org is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity that has no government affiliations of any kind. Their purpose is to provide resources for critical thinking and to educate without bias.
Catch up on recent programs, news around the nation and world, politics, the arts, science, and health, to name a few.
PBS News Hour Topics
News and current events with text and video coverage.
Alternative news site with pull-down menu of topics including: Culture, Policy & Politics, World, Business & Finance, Technology, etc.
Statistical Information Websites
America's Children 2015
Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics report that puts raw statistical information into context: "This report presents 24 key indicators of the well-being of children. These indicators are monitored through official Federal statistics covering children's economic security, health, behavior, social environment and education."
American Fact Finder
From the U.S. census bureau, locate popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community.
From the website: "A trusted source for federal statistical information since 1997. FedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official Federal statistics."
Provides information on why specific news stories and opinions surrounding various studies may be misleading or incorrect. Offers facts and figures on studies related to education/family, drug use, health/disease, polls/surveys, gender issues, crime, defense, and media factoids.
2010 Statistical Abstract (US Census Bureau)
From the Website: "The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States."
Digest of Education Statistics
From the Website: "The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)."